We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay For A Diver”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay For A Diver”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and dive buddies did a weekend dive trip in Catalina this February and ended up staying at Hermosa. The staff was friendly and accomodation and even gave one of our last minute friends a discounted price when we thought to go with us (last minute). My husband and I got the top floor corner room with a beautiful view of the ocean. It's clean and close to the Avalon Underwater Park. There's an area on the first floor where you can store your dive bags/scuba gear so lugging it to your room is not necessary.

Only downside: you share a bathroom with the next room. Not good when you want to take your sweet time in the shower...or the toilet.

Room Tip: Top floor corner room. Best view and warm breeze on a cool night in February.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenAnthroSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Sounds like you had a great stay, which delights me! I wanted to point out that the Combo Room you had does connect to the room next door to it via the shared bathroom. We sell the two rooms together to families/friends/dive club members who know each other and want to be adjoined and share the bathroom. It is a rare instance that we would have a room adjoined to strangers, so your situation sounds like a special circumstance if you didn't know the people you were sharing with. Yes, we love divers and try to have amenities available to make your stay convenient (i.e. the dive lockers, fresh water rinse area, after-checkout shower facilities). Please come stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    37
    48
    48
See reviews for
77
132
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My neighbors and I each booked a deal through groupon. We were excited to get away for a long weekend and relax together. However, we were very disappointed in the Hermosa hotel. Yes, it is funky, the lobby is pretty and quaint, the location is very central, and some of the people that work at the front desk are very friendly.

However, we were very disappointed in a few critical areas:
- the beds. We were in cabin d, just next door to the main hotel. Our friends stayed up the hill in the other cabins. After our first night, we all said that this was the worst bed ever. It seems like the same cheap, springy, worn out mattresses were used in both units. I have slept in budget friendly places and hostels all over the world, and I cannot recall a less comfortable mattress.

Thin walls/windows - Ours was one cabin up from the road and we had noise going by all night long.

Cleanliness - my son spilt water on the floor. We used a towel to wipe it up and found quite a layer of dirt on the white towel. The sheets were also worn thin in a few places. The bottom of the bathroom door and around the shower had significant water damage and the many layers of paint were peeling up due to this. Slats were missing from the vertical blinds so sunlight was in our faces bright and early.

Other things to note that weren't ideal (and by themselves wouldn't have made me think negatively of this place) - but other people might be interested in
knowing:
- the rooms are very tight. Only enough space for one small suitcase on top of a dresser. There was a tv on a cart, and a fridge on another table that took up one side of the room. There was about 3 feet between the foot of the bed and the wall on the opposite side of the room.
- the showers are tiny. Barely enough room to turn around in.
- fixtures and furnitures are outdated but are all in working order.
- paint looks fairly fresh on the wood beamed ceiling and door frames, but not on the walls - there are quite a few marks/patches.
- many of the units look like they have many steep stairs leading up to them. Ours did not, but this would be important for others to know.

Overall, avalon is a quaint city. I will definitely return here for a quick trip. However, I will not ever stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone. It's worth paying a little more for a different place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crausch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for purchasing the Groupon deal - I'm happy you were able to come to Catalina with friends and enjoy yourselves. I appreciate your feedback about the bed in Cottage D... we've been systematically replacing mattresses and it's feedback like yours that lets us know Cottage D is now at the top of the list (we've already replaced the mattress, actually). Yes, the walls are thin - part of being built in 1896 and definitely a part of the "Catalina funky" charm of the island's original buildings. Sound carries and it can get noisy with the golf carts so if you're a light sleeper it might be best to have one of the rooms in the hotel versus the Cottages. We also offer free earplugs at the front counter because we know that being so centrally located has its pros (minutes to walk to beach/bars/etc) and cons (noise from being so close). We have inspected Cottage D and have implemented some repairs. Again, thank you for your input! We certainly hope you'll visit the island again, and agree that perhaps you'd be a better fit for one of the newer, non-historic hotels on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

First we want to say the staff was very nice, friendly and accomidating. It was quiet and had a little fridge which was nice. This place could be so charming with some effort bit for us it was disapointing and over priced. We went to celebrate a 50th birthday, ok so its old but the mattressess seem to be almost as old. We felt like we were sleeping in a hammock, there was another bed in the room which was firm but you could feel the springs poking through and it was a twin so we couldnt sleep comfortably together. The blinds dont hang correctly we had to put a towel on the window or anyone in the corridor could see us in bed. When we asked if there was another room available we were told we had the best room already :/ Please Hermosa buy some cute curtains, get some things on the walls and replace those mattresses!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your posting, Marie. Perhaps you could respond to us privately and let us know what room you stayed in. We have almost completed the upgrade of all of our beds and would like to know your room so we can make sure that bed is next on the replacement list. We have also recently purchased new artwork for our rooms. It's sometimes challenging being the new owners of a property over 100 years old, as the list is long and we can only do so much at a time... but it's important to us to keep improvements going, and we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The good: The staff was friendly, the hotel building proper was architecturally interesting, and the location cannot be beat.

The bad: Everything about the cottage room, especially for the price. We stayed two nights in Cottage Room 43 for the Memorial Day Weekend. We chose the Hermosa Hotel because it was the only hotel that offered a two night minimum, rather than a three night minimum. I had read the reviews and wasn't expecting a high end property, and knowing it's an old building, I was expecting a small room and small bathroom, but for $202 per night, at a minimum, I expected a bed that could be slept in. My specific issues:

*Seriously stained carpet throughout the room
*Crumbled tortilla chips along the bed closest to the bathroom
*The "fitted" sheet did not fit on the bed closet to the bathroom
*Sloping floors (which might be forgiven in the older hotel part given the age, but the cottages are newer)
*Broken/missing chain lock on the door
*Broken/missing blinds on the walkway side of the room (we had to use one of the towels that we brought to cover the window (this hotel does not provide beach towels))
*Dirty walls
*Broken furniture - the surface of both the melamine dresser and headboard was peeling. Both items were also seriously chipped revealing the plywood type material beneath.
*Only one of the two beds had a headboard
*There was a coffee pot and one plastic water cup filled with sugar packets. No actual coffee and no coffee cups/paper cups
*There were cigarette butts between the slats of wood in front of the door and in the gutter in the cottage unit in front of #43
*And the biggest issue for us was the bed closest to the window had completely shot springs. My husband sat down on the end of the bed after we first arrived and the entire bed behind him shot up into the air and he slid down, but luckily did not get hurt. My kids "slept" in this bed, but the center sank down because it had zero support due to the broken spring issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaHotel, General Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we take all of our reviews seriously and appreciate feedback, both positive and negative.

We have already replaced the bed, and have our maintenance manager reviewing and working on the list of items you posted here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Groupon advertisement said, "Escape to a magical world of luxury." Luxurious is not a word I would use to describe the Hermosa Hotel. We had to pay an additional $75 for some fees that were excluded because we used a Groupon... never had that happen before. Keep your shoes on, the hardwood and linoleum floors are filthy. The shower was gross and the curtain was disgusting, there was no toilet paper and the wood around the shower is literally rotting off the walls. The small fridge was in dire need of a defrost and I wouldn't have dared touch any of their dishes. The cleaning ladies were standing outside talking instead of cleaning. On the upside they have friendly employees and an internet connection which is best utilized to locate a CLEANER room. I wouldn't go back even if it was on them!

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel are your best option. :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlansGirl502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This review is for the Catalina Cottage area within the Hermosa Hotel group. We picked this hotel because they allowed dogs. Our expectations were low but hopes were high due to the centralized location. The cottage is in a good location but was barely fit for a dog. The price we paid ($200 a night with dog fees and taxes) discusted me and I felt taken advantage of. If you can get the room for half the price maybe consider staying only if you have a dog. Otherwise leave the dog at home and stay somewhere else or better yet spend your vacation money in a more dog friendly area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doglovertruckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Quaint really means paper thin walls and tiny rooms when you use Groupon. Very friendly staff however and central to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank American_Expat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing