We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Perfect for what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My fiance and I completed a three day backpacking trip, starting from Two Harbors and ending in Avalon. After camping for two nights, we were ready more civilized accommodations. The room was small, but provided all that we needed for one night - most importantly a shower and a comfy bed.

If you just need a place to rest for a night or two and do not need many frills, this place is great!

Room Tip: best rates are in the off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tariere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    69
    35
    45
    47
See reviews for
73
120
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I bought the trip from groupon. $260 for two nights including fare on the Catalina Flyer out of Newport, Ca (very fast, 1 hr). It also included
two extras; two cinama tickets and a Segway tour......both were fun. I have come to the conclusion that 2 days and 1 night are enough on Catalina. The hotel is one notch above a dump. My wife endured and I just ignored the bad stuff. Rooms are small with a very tiny bathroom. We had one of the cottages. Many of the rooms had a "share a bothroom". I am not complaining, but was taken by the advertising for the groupon, thinking the hotel was a little better. This is more closely related to a hostel for students, which we saw many staying there.. Overall, my wife and I slept well but got tired of all the stairs to our room. No elevators to the third floor where our room was located. It was an adventure but we will not stay there again. This is a great place for the couple wanting to spend very little for a room

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfott2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Definitely a budget hotel on the Island, but very pleasant service and a relaxed feel everywhere. Our room was pretty small, but comfortable, with a minifridge, microwave and good TV. Only trouble was, they were occupying the only electrical outlet in the bedroom! Hard to charge phones or computers. We felt very at ease there, despite the simplicity of the decor. Knowing it was built so long ago explained a lot about the small spaces. Pretty little front balconies over the street, and a nice bathroom. We'd go back. But don't look for luxury!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbalgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I staryed here for two nights as a promo for a time-share presentation. This is a 1920's place with very small cabins. If you want luxury this is not the place for you. but if you want a great location, fair rates, great management, and a clean comfortable place to stay this is for you. It had a small kitchen with refrigerator but who is going to do much real cooking with all the restaurants there are in Catalina. One of the great things about the Hermosa is that it has a large storage room. That allowed us to leave our sutcases attended while we toured Avalon until our ferry left at 3:00 in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was in a great location close to everything. A Vons grocery store was a close neighbor (just steps away) in which we could stock up on drinks & snacks and store them in our in room fridge. The room was clean and we had a flat screen in ours. Quaint feel and the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. To be able to leave your bags there even after you check out is awesome since our boat does not arrive until 4:30 and check out is at 11am. I would definately stay here again because of the service, location, and price. This is not a five star hotel so do not expect white glove service. We came here for the first time with no expectations and just wanted a place to sleep and shower since we had lots of activities we would be engaging in. The room served its purpose and my husband and I were very happy. We would stay here again and use the $$ we saved to spend on the fun activities this island has to offer. I can't wait to come back!! Thank you Hermosa!!

Room Tip: Close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel is located in Avalon which is near everything!
This hotel prides itself on being Catlina's economy hotel and this hotel is a great value, but because of that keep room expectations in check.
The room(s) that we stayed were pretty basic in that, they had a dresser, bathroom, tv, and a bed, but it shouldn't matter as you will most likely spend most of your time on the island.
On our first night, we got a room that was on the street and it was quite noisy (due to the golf carts) but management transferred us to a quieter vacant room with no hassle!
Overall great value if you need a place to sleep and stay at on the island along with excellent customer service!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel because we bought a 2 nights stay on Groupon. It was TERRIBLE! It's unfortunate too because the staff was extremely pleasant (which is why I gave the service 4 stars). We actually left a day early because we couldn't bear to sleep in the room one more day. It was really disappointing because we had been looking forward to a nice relaxing 3 day weekend. The hotel ruined it. In case you are thinking of staying here, please know that it is more like a hostel than a hotel (and a bad hostel at that, because I've stayed in cleaner hostels all around Europe).

When we first walked in to our room, I immediately noticed a small pile of what seemed to be insect eggs. My husband assured me they were not and we promptly took a tissue and got rid of them. Why I didn't turn around and walk out, I don't know. I wish I had. The floor slanted downward and just by looking at them, we could see the beds bending in the middle. I didn't even want to set my luggage down, for fear of contracting some disease. But I sucked it up (again, I don't know why). The walls were filthy and in desperate need of a good clean and re-paint. The blinds were hanging at odd angles and we had to re-arrange them in order to get them to close properly. The area behind the bed hadn't been vacuumed, maybe EVER. There was dust and who knows what else caked in the corners. I mean, really? I couldn't believe someone would even charge for a room like that! (Of course it doesn't make it better when someone like me PAYS for it either - never again!)

Also, the next morning at about 6 or 7am, the people who had a house on the hill right above and behind our cottage room decided to renovate. There was a ton of hammering and pounding. Here are some of the other things we noticed:

Holes in the sheets (all over - not just one or two)
Stains on the sheets!
Could feel the springs in the mattress
The sheets were paper thin so we could see the yellowed fabric of the pillows - time to get new pillows!!!!
NO insulation so you could hear everything
Floor was coated in a thick grime
Drawers of the dresser were stained and warped.
I was afraid to go in the shower without flip flop sandals, and we decided to forgo the showers in the end.

My advice: pay the extra money and stay somewhere else on Catalina. We wish we had.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing