We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer No-Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Customer No-Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

I selected the hotel based on reviews and the fact that it was fairly newly refurbished. Not much of a warm greeting as you would expect from a hotel where you're paying $400 bucks a night. The two non-plussed female employees seemed more concerned with their routine than with how they could accommodate us. I had asked one of them if they had a larger container for ice for the two bottles of champagne I brought. She just shook her head and said, 'no'. So I asked if she could take a look and she said she didn't know what I wanted her to do. I said I was sure she'd figure something out.
When I went downstairs (2nd floor ice machine is broken) to get ice, the other female employee was indeed filling up a larger container. But, there had been no communication that they were taking care of things. And their attitudes clearly indicated that they didn't want to.

The air conditioning fan didn't blow a strong current of air and when we asked about it they never followed up. The air did cool the room, and I think that unit is designed to have a low flow of air, but the employees should know that and communicate that to the guest.

Upon check out; in the morning - after standing at the counter waiting for 2 workers to finish their conversation before acknowledging I was standing there - I asked about having our baggage brought to the ferry. The girl told me they can take care of that - and if the baggage service transporters are busy, she assured me they make it clear they have guests who are checking out and headed to the ferry. Well, upon check out, a different girl was at the counter, called baggage service 4 times and told us there was no answer. We asked her to call us a taxi.

When the taxi driver dropped us off he was surprised we hadn't gotten a taxi voucher as he stated, 'they always give taxi vouchers to their guests'.

Very apathetic attitude they have there.

Our friends stayed at Metropole for 1/2 the price, much bigger room with a fireplace - and I have to assume better service because you really can't get much worse than the service at the Aurora Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvalonHotel, owner at Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am sorry our service and accommodations did not meet your expectations.
This is the first request we have had for a single ice bucket to hold two bottles of champagne and I am sorry that the offer of an additional ice bucket did not meet your needs. Our staff hoped to accommodate you by bringing an alternative to you, I am sorry that this fact was not communicated in a timely manner.
We are waiting on a quieter motor for our second floor ice machine and we are at the mercy of the parts company at this time. If we are unable to get a quieter fan motor we will be removing this piece of equipment. I am sorry the lack of an additional ice machine negatively impacted your stay with us.

This is the first complaint about our air conditioners being too quiet. Yes, they are new and very quiet.
We will continue to evaluate the service provided by the baggage company.
This independent company provides a service on the island that many of our guests find helpful.
We do not include taxi service except with some pre-paid packages. We have already contacted the taxi service to ensure their drivers are aware of this fact.
We also will continue to impress on our innkeepers the importance of communication with each other so they can respond more quickly to the needs of each person. We have already had a meeting to discuss your perception of a bad experience at our property and what could have been done to prevent such an experience in the future.
I truly am sorry we were unable to meet your needs and hope you do try another property on Catalina Island in the future. We have done our best to communicate on our websites what we can offer to our guests and I apologize that we were not a match for each other.


Thanks,

Kathleen Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
177
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

First, if you have luggage, you might want to get a taxi to the hotel because it's rough pulling suitcases up the hill. The service at the hotel was great. We were even personally shown to our room. We loved the modern style of the decor and the aqua and brown pairings. Our room (211) was described as having a partial ocean view, but the view was actually much better than we expected.

Warning: the room is very small, as is the bathroom (especially the sink and the shower). Yet, the room has a bed, desk, television, night stands, microwave, and refrigerator and still doesn't feel cramped. We thought the small space was worth it, though, because the bed is by far the most comfortable we have ever encountered in a hotel. We had a very restful night's sleep. The hotel also provides extremely soft and comfortable robes (which are available for purchase, but we didn't ask the price). The rooftop deck is spacious and has many cushioned seats.

We happened to have a drunken fighting couple staying on our floor, so we did hear some yelling during the night. But we've encountered this at practically every hotel, even the most expensive ones.

The continental breakfast had everything we expected: cereals, danishes, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, milk. It was nothing out of the ordinary, but it was tasty and saved us from having to go out and pay for breakfast.

The location of the hotel is pretty convenient. It's a short walk to the Casino building and the main street with shops and restaurants. It's almost at the opposite end of the harbor from where the daily boats dock--a nice walk that can seem longer with suitcases. If you have a lot of luggage, I recommend a taxi (also because of the hill mentioned above).

I think that if you are planning on sightseeing during the day and want a cozy place to rest at night, this is a great choice. If you are planning on spending a lot of time in the room, its small quarters could bother you. We would definitely return to the Aurora Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LitLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

For our honeymoon my husband and I decided to go to Catalina Island. After making a few phone calls we ended up staying at the Aurora. We arrived into Avalon early Friday afternoon. The hotel staff watched our luggage while we shopped around and until our room was ready. The room was an excellent size. There was a great walk in shower that was very relaxing after a day of exploring. The room had a tempurpedic bed as well as both feather and foam pillows. Perfect for our liking. The continental breakfast was simple but perfect for us because we were always on the go for our next adventure. We had an issue with Catalina Island Conservancy and not getting our hiking pass however one of the staff members made sure we were able to get a pass. The location of the hotel is a little farther than most of the other hotels however it was worth the walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colboboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

I have to say this place exceeded my expectations. Our room was very modern and equipped with all the stuff you would need to accomodate your trip. I was especially Impressed with the staff at the Aurora Hotel and Spa. They were very polite, courteous, and went beyond their duty to make this a special trip. I would definitely refer somone to this hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

From the continental breakfast in the morning to our bottle-of-wine-afternoons on the rooftop deck, this hotel gave us a slice of Europe in SoCal. Very accommodating staff held our bags the entire last day after check out while we scuba and snorkeled and kayaked. The daily relaxation on the rooftop deck was a welcome respite from the busy days spent playing on the beach. Central location made it easy to walk to everything. The rooms were very well appointed with tempurpedic beds and flat screen tvs. We had everything we could ask for and loved the wonderful spa-quality toiletries and decor that reminded us of some of the best ultra-modern European hotels in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC2AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel ... The rooms were small like NY or Europe but the decor and service were fantastic. The front desk employee (Juan) was incredibly helpful and his food recommendations were spot on.
Great location and considering the price of other hotels, this was a value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claydevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, So.Cal.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

My wife and I just returned from this hotel following a weekend trip and we loved this place! We stayed in a "standard" (not a suite) on the second floor. The first thing we noticed as soon as we walked in the door was how small the room was but once we took a look around and saw how well they used the space we we're really impressed! Everything you need is right there (coffee maker, mini fridge, safe, etc). The shower felt a little cramped but nothing we couldn't handle. The bed was probably the most comfortable either of us had slept-in at a hotel in recent memory, nice to roll-over and not disturb your mate.

The only problem we had was getting on the hotel's WiFi network, which kept booting my lap top off, however it wasn't much of a problem (we we're still able to get on-line and look-up Geocaching locations and tours). Mentioned it to the front desk upon check-out and they apologized and said they would check their router. Other than that we had a very pleasent stay and can't wait to stay there again!

Hotel is about a 12-15 minute walk from where Catalina Express's dock. Nice and flat until the last 2-3 minutes which requires walking up a fairly steep hill, we had no problems with it but older travelers or travelers with lots of luggage might have problems. Very easy walk down to area shops, restaurants and the Casino.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev250R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing