We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

For our honeymoon my husband and I decided to go to Catalina Island. After making a few phone calls we ended up staying at the Aurora. We arrived into Avalon early Friday afternoon. The hotel staff watched our luggage while we shopped around and until our room was ready. The room was an excellent size. There was a great walk in shower that was very relaxing after a day of exploring. The room had a tempurpedic bed as well as both feather and foam pillows. Perfect for our liking. The continental breakfast was simple but perfect for us because we were always on the go for our next adventure. We had an issue with Catalina Island Conservancy and not getting our hiking pass however one of the staff members made sure we were able to get a pass. The location of the hotel is a little farther than most of the other hotels however it was worth the walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colboboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
177
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

I have to say this place exceeded my expectations. Our room was very modern and equipped with all the stuff you would need to accomodate your trip. I was especially Impressed with the staff at the Aurora Hotel and Spa. They were very polite, courteous, and went beyond their duty to make this a special trip. I would definitely refer somone to this hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

From the continental breakfast in the morning to our bottle-of-wine-afternoons on the rooftop deck, this hotel gave us a slice of Europe in SoCal. Very accommodating staff held our bags the entire last day after check out while we scuba and snorkeled and kayaked. The daily relaxation on the rooftop deck was a welcome respite from the busy days spent playing on the beach. Central location made it easy to walk to everything. The rooms were very well appointed with tempurpedic beds and flat screen tvs. We had everything we could ask for and loved the wonderful spa-quality toiletries and decor that reminded us of some of the best ultra-modern European hotels in Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC2AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel ... The rooms were small like NY or Europe but the decor and service were fantastic. The front desk employee (Juan) was incredibly helpful and his food recommendations were spot on.
Great location and considering the price of other hotels, this was a value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claydevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, So.Cal.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

My wife and I just returned from this hotel following a weekend trip and we loved this place! We stayed in a "standard" (not a suite) on the second floor. The first thing we noticed as soon as we walked in the door was how small the room was but once we took a look around and saw how well they used the space we we're really impressed! Everything you need is right there (coffee maker, mini fridge, safe, etc). The shower felt a little cramped but nothing we couldn't handle. The bed was probably the most comfortable either of us had slept-in at a hotel in recent memory, nice to roll-over and not disturb your mate.

The only problem we had was getting on the hotel's WiFi network, which kept booting my lap top off, however it wasn't much of a problem (we we're still able to get on-line and look-up Geocaching locations and tours). Mentioned it to the front desk upon check-out and they apologized and said they would check their router. Other than that we had a very pleasent stay and can't wait to stay there again!

Hotel is about a 12-15 minute walk from where Catalina Express's dock. Nice and flat until the last 2-3 minutes which requires walking up a fairly steep hill, we had no problems with it but older travelers or travelers with lots of luggage might have problems. Very easy walk down to area shops, restaurants and the Casino.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev250R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

The Aurora is located off the main road in Avalon, so you get seclusion away from the other hotels but are still just a few steps down the hill from the beach, tours and restaurants. The staff is amazing and will tell you when asked where to eat, hike and what tours to take. The hospitality reminded me of the community feel of a hostel but in an upscale adult format. A basic continental breakfast is served in the morning, and a single cup coffee maker is in your room, stocked with a variety of fragrant herbal teas for a spa feel and a variety of coffees as well. Water bottles are free in the room, a real treat compared to hotels that try to squeeze every dollar out of you they can.

The rooms are gorgeous and the blankets are among the most comfortable I've every felt. We stayed in the junior suite and we had plenty of space - a huge plus for a city that is only one square mile.

We highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or a relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carryonsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our stay on Catalina at the Aurora and really enjoyed it. The room was clean and neatly decorated, the space was well-used, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast good. We liked the modern decor. There were complimentary movies, coffee and tea available all day long. We were even treated to a lower rate when we were stranded there for an extra night by the weather.

The room was small and somewhat expensive, but based on other reviews of Avalon, no more expensive than the other rooms and certainly it was not small enough to feel cramped.

We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Catalina.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing