We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and probably the best hotel in Catalina!”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Second time staying here...both great overall experiences! This time we opted for the couples massage. We will definitely do that again! Close proximity to shops and restaurants and make sure to check out the roof top deck...amazing views! great continental breakfast. Wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipwrek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

There was a bit of miscommunication about my reservation but the staff was outstanding, jumped right in and straightened everything out. They really went above and beyond and have all been so nice and helpful. Thank you Diana, Rock and Richard I truely appreciate you exceeding my expectations and I can't wait to see you in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KIMBKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a lovely, cozy hotel. My husband and I were visiting California and decided on the spur of the moment to take a trip to Catalina Island. Diana gave us an exceptional deal and even upgraded us to an ocean-view room. We were impressed with all staff and amenities, which included a delicious continential breakfast. We hope to get back to the island again someday and stay at the Aurora Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were in room 213 so we had a view of the ocean but it was a standard room and was quite small. We didn't spend too much time in there so it didn't matter too much. Walking up the hill does suck but it is a great hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We get to the hotel and we first see the doors open automatically, and we're like, wow! Its not that we haven't seen doors open automatically, its just being on Catalina Island its a huge thing to us. We are then greeted by cool humor, kind, generous employees of AUROWHATTT!!! They are really sweet and nice and the best part they upgraded us to a great ocean view suite. I had a cake delivered to our room by JULIOS BAKERY and the front desk gave us plates, forks, and cake cutter so we can enjoy my girls B-day cake. All around great style and great clean rooms. THANK YOU Aurora hotel employees. You made our experience memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a few days for our honeymoon. The Aurora Hotel is not a bed and breakfast by traditional standards, but more a b&b style hotel. They have laptops, GPSrs, and binoculars for guests to borrow. We borrowed a laptop during our stay so we could watch stuff on Netflix, and they had no problem letting us hold onto it for our entire stay. The breakfast consists of bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, orange juice, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, and yogurt. There is a rooftop balcony with a nice view that you can use at your leisure.

We stayed in a standard ocean-view room. It's a little small (I think under 200 square feet) but designed very well. Everything is there and accessible in the room including memory foam bed, microwave, mini-fridge, Kuerig coffee maker (very cool), comfy robes, dimming lights, thermostat, flatscreen TV, DVD player, and bathroom. There is definitely not room for more than two people. The room is more suited for romantic couples as the bathroom door is made of sliding opaque glass and does not lock.

Be aware that the hotel is up a bit of a hill. That was no problem for us since we're young and we preferred having a hotel that was up and away from the noise of busy street. It also makes for fantastic views both during the day and at night.

The Innkeeper was very helpful; I called to book a room and he helped answer my questions and helped me pick a room that was suited to us. He explained that the room we picked had a very nice balcony, even though the website didn't list it had one.

We're both very satisfied with our stay at the Aurora hotel.

Room Tip: Call and ask which rooms have a balcony; they don't list all of them on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank name332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are looking for a stylish place with nice accomodations in Avalon, this is your place. The chic decor and friendly staff are welcoming. Rooms are a tad small, but larger than a European style room. Small kitchenette offers a Kuereg style coffee maker with multiple choices, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Tempur-Pedic mattresses are nice if you like that style. The shower is a smidge small, but workable.

There is a fantastic rooftop area perfect for wine with a great view of Avalan bay.
Wine and cheese reception on Friday night was a nice touch.

The staff were very helpful and assisted with dinner and tour choices.
One thing though, this is a little bit of a hike from the Catalina Flyer landing. It isn't bad until the last 80 yards uphill. Fine for me and my teenagers, but if you're out of shape, take your time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $154 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing