We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So kind!”
Review of Airport in the Sky

Airport in the Sky
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Catalina Island Cape Canyon Expedition
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Santa Catalina Island Skyline Drive Tour
Ranked #5 of 57 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Airport in the Sky occupies a 1,602-foot-tall mountaintop at the center of the Catalina Island, 10 miles from the city of Avalon. It's a great destination by tour or shuttle bus, bicycle, on foot whether hiking the Trans Catalina Trail or walking over from Black Jack, or of course, via private or chartered small plane. Its single 3,250-foot-long runway was constructed by blasting and leveling two adjacent peaks, then using the resulting debris to fill in the gaps.The image is of a T-34 Beechcraft that flew in to participate in one of the Airport in the Sky's monthly Aeroclub Fly-In Days.
Irvine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So kind!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I came to the DC3 airport / restaurant for one of their summer BBQ's with my scout troop. Before getting to the island, the staff (Lisa) was so friendly and helpful in getting me information and our reservations in order. George was great in helping us with transportation to the airport and helping us find a short little hike to take while up there. The BBQ? DELISH!! Again, the entire staff were fun, friendly, and just plain kind. They helped ensure all my scouts had what they needed. We also really enjoyed the live music. Thank you Airport in the Sky!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    125
    54
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun surprise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped here during our day touring the island. A little oasis -- history of the island, good food, clean restrooms, and a delightful gift shop. Worth the stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 404Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect stop along the TCT”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped at The Airport in the Sky for lunch on Day 2 of our 3-day backpacking adventure along the Trans Catalina Trail. The airport was a lot more interesting than I expected as there is a lot of history in this place and many interesting planes can be seen here. We watched a number of them take off or land as we were hiking in. The main attraction here for us was the food. After 1.5 days of camp food, I was ready for a buffalo burger! Although the food was very expensive, it tasted good and the patio dining area was very comfortable with awesome views. The gift shop has some surprisingly nice souvenirs (backpacks and jackets were really nice!), and we bought a locally-made ornament for our Christmas tree (a family tradition when we travel). Be sure to take time to go across the street to the soapstone quarry. There was a geocache there that I wanted to find, but the quarry itself, used by the original native Americans, was very interesting. Well worth the quarter of a mile hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarkSolstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Take the Bus up and Ride your bike back to town”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We brought our mountain bikes on the trip with us with the intention to ride out to the airport and back. Found out, its about 10 miles there - UP HILL and I wasn't looking for that much exercise! So it was suggested to take a bus up and ride back - down hill most of the way.

The airport has a nice deli with pretty good food, great patio to enjoy it on and check out the trails, buffalo and planes coming in and out. There is an island information center with a massive tile map of the island, info on the conservancy and history of the island and its residents - human and wildlife.

You do need to purchase a bike permit from the Catalina Conservancy to ride out on the trails and its pricey ($26 per person) but well worth it - best views all around, you can see to Two Harbor and ride some of the campground trails on the way back, we saw buffalo out doing what they do and all the way to the mainland! It was a very easy bike ride back since it was down the whole way and we spend about 3 hrs on the various trails and ride back. Make sure your brakes are in very good working order, Im not kidding when I say down hill the whole way.
Quite a great excursion !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The trip up the mountain alone with the sea air and the fragrance of the woods was exhilarating. The airpor in the sky is a sight to behold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airport in the Sky also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Catalina Island, CA
 

Been to Airport in the Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing