We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WOW! Beyond our expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Save
You added Snug Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“WOW! Beyond our expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a last minute getaway in Avalon. As neither of us had ever been to the island, though California natives, we were having a difficult time deciding on where to stay. We decided to go with the snug harbor based on their exceptional staff answering our questions on the phone along with the nice pics on their site. Well upon arrival we were floored by the charm and attention to detail at the inn. We were granted an upgrade to their ocean front room, the Santa Catalina suite, it was low season. Yey! However all the rooms are just as perfect with the only exception being that some of the rooms offer more of a partial ocean view. These rooms are also really nice though, because they look down on a quaint courtyard style street. Great for people watching and you still get a harbor view. All the rooms have very deep jacuzzi tubs. The staff is fantastic. They make you feel really special. I don't want to write one of those two page reviews but seriously I could with this place. It's fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jncwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
269
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This was my second visit to Catalina Island; therefore, I wanted my stay to be carefree. Well, the customer service was impeccable...the clerks explained every aspect of my stay. The day of arrival, we received a welcome card, complimentary wine and cheese, a personal tour of the room, and very helpful, knowledgeable concierge service as well. We appreciated the thoughtful touches and innovative services throughout our stay. I totally recommend this hotel to loving couples, because the cozy and personable ambiance enhances any romantic mood.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VenturaZesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdybirdcars
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed on Catalina Island as the end part of our California trip. The room is very romantic with a fireplace, great view (San Nicolas room) but soooo tiny!! They are charging a bit much for the size. The location is central as well, right on the crowded busy front streets. Not a place to stay if you want lots of quiet and privacy. Breakfast served in room is this cute little basket, and wine and cheese served in the lounge every evening. All was perfect, except for lacking in room to put luggage when in room. Bathroom has no counter space, the jacuzzi tub is nice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdybirdcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanat Monica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Snug Harbor. The inn only has 6 rooms - we stayed in the Santa Barbara and the Santa Catalina Rooms. Both rooms were comfortable and well appointed with jacuzzi tubs, comfy king sized beds, a bose radio (a nice touch as most hotels have really terrible radios, this one even has a CD player and they had Enya in the room). As many other reviewers said the breakfast was very tasty - we had a banana bread one morning and a corn bread the next. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The afternoon wine gave us a chance to chat with other travelers. All in all a very nice weekend.

Santa Barbara room - a bit small but very cute
Santa Catalina room - more comfortable size wise and great view of the harbor.

While it was quiet for us (we were visiting in January) I could see how it would be loud in the summer and spring when the population can flare to over 10,000 on the busiest of weekends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogajod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Snug Harbor the weekend of 1/8/2010. The hotel and staff exceeded any expectations. Upon arrival when the night attendant found out it was my birthday he gave us an upgrade ocean view room. The room was impecable, the staff was absolutely amazing. When the website stated continental breakfast I had assumed the hotel typical but this was delivered in a basket to the room and contained a warm loaf of bread, super yummy!!!!
We would stay again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed at the Snug Harbor Inn for 2 nights and we absolutely loved it. We took advantage of their 2 nights for 1 deal. The staff were top notched and you can tell they care about providing great customer service. The breakfast served in our room was healthy and very filling. There was also a wine and cheese reception every afternoon. I highly recommend the San Nicholas room since it has a great view. Overall, we definitely will go back there again.

One negative point - the bar nearby was pretty loud on one of the nights and I've read some complaints before I made the reservation. I turned on the air conditioner and it pretty much drowned the sound. They also give you some earplugs. If you want extreme quiet at night, do not stay at the hotels/b and b's facing the ocean since they will be surrounded by bars.

We went to Steve's Steakhouse and that place has really good food. Try the swordfish - it melts in your mouth. The service was also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisandatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The staff was top notch. They were extrememly flexible with changing our reservation due to illness. The room quality is great. We had a chance to look at most of the rooms while we were there and we would have been happy with anyone of them. They served complimentory breakfast in the room. Cheese and crackers in the evening. They treated us like we were guests in their home. Would defiinitely recomend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccborrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalina Island Inn
Catalina Island Inn
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing