We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully comfortable, elegant, well located, outstanding in every way”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderfully comfortable, elegant, well located, outstanding in every way”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The presentation of the breakfast served in the room was quite lovely......and so much to choose from: freshly baked banana bread, granola, yogurt, fruit, excellent coffee, juice......delicious!
The bed was VERY comfortable, the linens of a fine quality and the whole environment felt luxurious

Room Tip: We were in the San Clemente right at the top of the stairs near the reception desk, but heard NO out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
298
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for my husband and I's 5th Anniversary. PROS: The Snug Harbor Inn had a wonderful location, just 10 walking minutes from the ferry terminal. The staff was cheery, informative and very welcoming. The room was beautiful and very clean!!! My husband and I stated that it was the BEST bed we have ever slept in! The morning breakfast was just the bite you needed to start your day. They had wonderful bath amenities and even had a large collection of movies to "rent" for the evening! Also, we took full advantage of the complimentary beach chairs to sit on the beach across from the Inn. CONS: First and foremost, we stayed in the Santa Barbra room and the windows face this courtyard. Yes, its beautiful during the day, but when the only nightclub in Avalon starts playing the music, we found it very hard to sleep. The nightclub is open until the wee hours of the morning, making it not the most "romantic" and enjoyable night sleep. The second and last con was that with the breakfast in the morning, the coffee was horrible. I can tell you that my husband and I are not coffee aficionados, but we know what a decent cup of coffee is and the Snug Harbor Inn did not make one...either day. All in all, the 2 night stay at the Snug Harbor Inn was nice. I would recommend it for a stay. I'd just choose another room that didn't face the Cha-Cha Room Nightclub.

Room Tip: The two rooms that faced the ocean were the quietest and biggest. Ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kebcook3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March after a very long trip from Sydney Australia. This place was just what the doctor ordered. We had booked the San Nicholas room and what a great room. It is certainly not big (we had 3 big suitcases and carry ons too) but everything in there was superb. The location is right there overlooking the promenade and right in the middle of everything. I am sure it can get a little noisy in the peak season but with ear plugs that would be fixed (which they supply). The staff were always polite and helpful. The bed was amazing, the bathroom lovely and the fireplace a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway, but if you have lots of bags then get a taxi for $5 this will save you dragging over the cobblestone walk way to the hotel.

Room Tip: Loved the San Nicolas room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simmar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our 6th trip to Catalina, and Snug Harbor is by far the nicest facility we have stayed at. Beautiful room and accommodations. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They made all of our reservations for meals and adventures. The breakfast served in our room was wonderful. Overall a fantastic experience. Next trip we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Santa Catalina and San Nicholas rooms overlook the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Let me break down Snug Harbor into PRO and CON.

PROs - location, location, location. We stayed in the Santa Catalina room. It is the most expensive room they offer, but it was our 30th wedding anniversary, so what the heck. King size bed, mattress was wonderful. Sheets and comforter soft and plush. 6 pillows for sleeping with. There is a fireplace in the room, flip a switch and it's on. Champagne waiting for us in our room. Little touches. Ear plugs for each guest, sleeping masks for each guest, chocolates delivered in the evening with turn down service. Bottled water as well. A sound box for background noise, like babbling brook, ocean waves, rain falling, etc. at 5 pm they served wine and cheese and crackers for all the guests . Kept our luggage upon checkout for the remainder of the day. Our view overlooking the harbor was beautiful. Jacuzzi tub

CONs - only one complaint and they've already addressed it as best as possible so I can't hold they accountable. The noise on the street below when we went to bed. You can't tell the city to be quiet, cause someone wants to sleep, hence the earplugs and sound machine.

Highly recommend. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Santa Catalina top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoannieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at the Snug Harbor Inn, we cannot recommend it enough. We stayed in the San Nicolas Suite, and despite being the smallest of the rooms it is more than spacious. What delighted us the most is the room matches the professional website photos exactly. It was immaculate, and decked out with all the modern amenities and gadgetry without compromising the character of the suite. The staff were superb and that continental breakfast was just divine. The San Nicolas Suite has a beautiful view over the ocean and you couldn't ask for a more central location. We would stay at the Snug Harbor Inn again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: San Nicolas Room has gorgeous oceans views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great place to stay. The only problem I had was that they booked out bought at a different time than the time I had said and has confirmation for. We ended having to pay an additional $15 per person to get on the boat we has originally scheduled for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing