We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!!! Excellent hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!!! Excellent hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were treated like royalty. We were celebrating my birthday, and they really made me feel special. I enjoyed it plenty. I was greated at my room with ballons, a bottle of chAmpagne, and a birthday card. Next morning, breakfast at my bed. Every evening they had adevours and wine for the guests, free movies, and other ammenities. The whole time they tried to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. I totally recommend this hotel. I will definetly go back again, soon I hope!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
294
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We checked in way earlier then expected and to our surprise our room was ready. Not only that, but we got an upgrade to one of the largest rooms. With panoramic views of the ocean and the streets lit up for Christmas and their xmas tree right out our window, the room exceeded expectations. Staff was extremely kind and helpful. I would recommend this to all my friends when visiting Catalina. This was one of the most carefree and relaxing trips of my life.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LexXxiLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for a few days to celebrate my wife's birthday. We stayed in the San Clemente room. Very cozy and romantic. The bed was very comfortable, the fireplace was perfect for the cool November nights, and the Jacuzzi tub was a very relaxing and soothing amenity. But above all else, it was the service that sets this place apart. The staff here went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect in everyway accommodating all of our requests. The hand delivered breakfast each morning was delicious. As a frequent traveler, I wasn't very optimistic about the "continental breakfast", but this exceeded my expectation in every way. The fresh brewed coffee, juice, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit were all delicious. But the freshly baked muffin load was phenomenal. Sooo delicious.

And on the final day of our visit when we had an early morning excursion, the staff was kind enough to give us a late check out and deliver the breakfast when we arrived back from our outing (even though it was well after their normal serving times). This is just an example of the great service we received throughout our stay.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Snug Harbor Inn on Catalina Island. After completing a 10 day trip and staying at five other hotels throughout California, Snug Harbor was top billing. The service and staff were first class all the way. Breakfast was served in your room and you decide what time. There is wine and cheese served @ 5:00 each day and you have the pleasure of meeting the other guests. With only six rooms, it is a very quiet and enjoyable place to be. They also have a large selection of DVDs to choose from for that late evening movie in bed.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Each year 4 couples kick off the winter holidays somewhere in Southern California. This year (2012) we suggested Catalina and, as hosts, chose Snug Harbor Inn. We could not have asked for a better place for our gathering. The rooms are lovely, the views peaceful, and the staff could not be surpassed. Everyone we dealt with wanted to make our stay perfect. Oh, and did I mention the fantastic breakfast including warm bread baked daily? We had a terrific time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

What an absolutely lovely hotel! The Snug Harbor Inn is charming, classy, friendly, gracious, and immaculately kept by the wonderfully accomodating staff. Front desk Manager Juan could not have been more helpful. The complimentary breakfasts are a treat, the early evening wine and cheese just delightful. We can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: The Santa Catalina room could very well have the best views on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newport_X-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our hosts at the Snug Harbor Inn were all very gracious with their time. If you have the pleasure of staying here, please take the time to talk to them. The breakfasts were always served with a smile. You could choose to set up the breakfast yourself or a hostess would set up the breakfast for you, complete with linens. Having breakfast delivered to us was a real treat. In the evenings, we were treated to wines, cheese, salami, fruit, olives, skewers of tomato/basil/mozzarella. This was our first trip to Catalina - what a gem!! We were able to walk to restaurants (check out Steve's Steakhouse, Portofino, Avalon Grille and Luau Larry's) and walk to the Casino and the Canyon Spa. You will not be disappointed at the Snug Harbor!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Santa Catalina room. This room has the BEST views of Avalon Bay, the Casino, Mt Ada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing