We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couple Getaway”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Couple Getaway”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I spend two nights at the Snug Harbor Inn for a getaway. My husband had never been to Catalina and I hadn't been in many years. The Snug Harbor Inn is a very quaint 6 room Inn that is upstairs right down by the beach. There are a couple of rooms with a full view but we stayed in the room with a partial view. You could see the beach from one window by the table only. The room was right at the top of the stairs and directly across from the front desk so is not very private. The accomodations were great though, clean, comfortable bed and windows that open to the street below. Jacuzzi bathtub is big enough for one but I enjoyed it. The street below is very noisy until bars close at 2 a.m. Wine and snacks at 5:00 in the lounge were nice for me, but my husband drinks beer. Breakfast was wonderful and very healthy. It was brought to our room which was a nice touch. The stay is a bit pricey and I think next time we will find something a bit away from the beach and less expensive. Not too far though unless it includes a golf cart because they rent for $40 per hour.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front desk and away from the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamkae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    46
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
299
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 night at the Snug Harbor Inn in the Anapaca Room - it was spacious and well appointed and a delightful place to relax and unwind. The staff was so attentive and helpful and the wine and cheese hour was a great way to meet the other people staying there. Breakfast was beautifully served and very good! We will definitely stay here again! This was our first but definitely not our last visit to Catalina Island!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fantastic from start to finish.
They accepted our luggage early as we arrived at 10:30 am. Once they knew we were there, they prioritized cleaning the rooms to get to ours sooner. They called my cell phone when the room was ready and we got to check in at 12:30 which was great!
The evening wine and cheese was a nice touch.
Breakfast served to our room was delicious - hot banana bread, granola and fresh fruit, coffee and juice,
Great location for getting to all of the islands activities - humvee ride around the eastern part of the island, a couple of nice meals in town and a great hike up to the Wrigley mausoleum.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Santa Cruz room was very comfortable - air conditioning was fine. Since it was on the 2nd floor the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best thing about the Snug Harbor Inn was the location, we had an ocean view room and could see the shoreline right out of our window. There were lots of activities and restaurants close by so everything was in walking distance including a Vons which was very convenient. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were gorgeous with an ocean blue color with white, it was a very elegant place. The room was very cozy and we loved our whole experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

First time stay and could not have picked a better hotel. Have been coming to Catalina every year for the last 10 years and our first time at Snug Harbor was the best. Helpful and courteous staff.
Great huge breakfast and delightful happy hour with appetizers and wine. Location was near all the activities and restaurants, and across the street from the beach. We loved the fireplace even though it was August, nice touch. We only wish check out was later so we could stay in room longer. Hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a great first visit to the Catalina. The location could not have been better. Would be nice to have more space to place personal items in bathroom, but limited size. Since we were there midweek, we really didn't have a noise issue. Took advantage of in and out of the room, enjoying just sitting by the window with great view and kicking back, reading, watching the Olympics. The Staff was very helpful and polite. Great afternoon wine and hors d'doeuvre and the breakfast was nice especially when served to our room. Again great stay, but probably not for children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a great time at Snug Harbor. The location was great. Right in the center of town. Everything was within walking distance. The service was great. We really enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese and orderbs. The partial ocean view was good but I think I'll splurge for the full ocean view next time

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing