We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Pleasantly Surprised!
We just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Atwater! We booked 2 rooms, (one was the suite, and other was a standard double). The suite was definately worth the extra money! It was nice to have a table and fridge. The standard double was just fine! Hotel Atwater beds were the most comfortable of our whole 14 day trip. We were traveling with 4 adults and 4 small children and the hotel was an easy walk to from the dock, with the children hauling their own luggage. Also close to the beach and restaurants. The staff was very accomodating to our early check in and checking our luggage and letting us pick it up later on on our departure date since we were catching a late boat out!
Tip:For amazing seafood eat at Armstrongs! For yummy ice cream eat at Big Olafs!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cost-Conscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 521 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Hotel Atwater was a great place to stay. It's smack dab in the middle of Avalon, with many restaurants and shops nearby. It's only a few hundred feet from the water, and there's a clean liquor store across the street where you can buy snacks, bottled water, soda, for reasonable prices.

We made sure to ask for a room with A/C, and it kept the room very cool. They have complimentary beach towels you can use, a clothes iron, mini ironing board, cable t.v., and fairly comfy beds. My wife and I went with our 3 children and they didn't try to gouge us for having extra people in the room (which is a pet peeve of mine). They offer package deals with the Catalina Express water taxi and it was very affordable.

The hotel was clean, close to everything and reasonably quiet for a tourist area. The only downside, and it was a small one, was that the staff was not very friendly. They weren't hostile but they didn't exactly ooze hospitality. However, we'll definitely stay here again, as it's a great location and a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blessed2BCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We just spent one night at the Atwater, but I found nothing at all to complain about. If you want some nitpicking... the bathroom door handle only worked when turned to the left. How's that for nitpicking? The room was fine. Nicely painted, clean and quiet with an un-dramatic view, but we did pick one of the cheaper rooms on the third floor, (we could have been on the second floor for the same price) and there's no elevator. The staff was just fine. The beds and pillows were comfortable. No complaints! I'd go back, but for me Catalina is kind of a 'if you've seen it once...' kind of place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sawcalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed mid-week and chose this particular hotel for the accomodations they had for divers. We payed a little extra for the upgraded rooms with airconditioners. The hotel is very clean and the room was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I am a hard person to please that way. The room style reminded me of a cottage in the country until you looked out your window at the magnificent mountain view, felt the cool ocean breeze coming in through the window, and realized this is as close to a Hawaii experience as Californians can get. We really did not need the airconditioner because the sea breeze was always going. For some guests the stairs may be challenging as the hotel is multi-level and has no elevators. For divers, they had a rinse-off shower in the back and they stored all of our wet gear for us with speedy service. It is extremely close to Crescent Avenue and for the price, there is no need to pay so much extra at other hotels just to be on the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lovinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Soda Springs, CA
111
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Hotel Atwater suited our needs perfectly. The hotel is older and as such has a lot of character, which I appreciate. The location is extremely convenient and central to everything in Avalon. We stayed in a deluxe queen sized room on the third floor. I recommend upgrading to the deluxe rooms, as they are much nicer than the standard rooms. The deluxe rooms have wooden furniture, nice bedspreads and extras like a hair dryer. The room was a bit small, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom and room were very clean and everything fit our needs just perfectly. The staff is friendly. Hotel Atwater is a great value on Catalina and we will definitely go back. Note: apparently no elevator, so be prepared to climb a few stairs.

Stayed: May 2006
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and were very happy with our choice. We stayed in a non-view room (hey, you're just there to sleep).

This is an older hotel which means no elevator, the rooms are fairly small, and they don't have some amenities (notably A/C and phone, for which a fan included in the room and our cell phones replaced just fine). But the room was clean and neat, the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom perfectly functional. The location was excellent, front desk staff very friendly and helpful, and the rates reasonable (at least for Catalina).

Our room was booked as a package deal through their website which included round trip ferry transportation and an undersea tour, which was a pretty good deal. The front desk staff is able to book tours through Discovery Tours, and you also get a "credit card" which can be used for free admission to Descanso Beach and to charge food/drinks/rentals there to your room. I thought that was a pretty cool feature.

If you're looking for fancy high end accomodations, this isn't the place for you, but for nice basic accomodations with a great location, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ltdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Jolla, CA
14
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We had originally been scheduled to stay at the Pavillion Lodge but it was not available until the second night of our stay, so we were to stay at the Atwater for our first night, then switch. The manager, Scott, gave us a suite for the same price of our double room at the Pavillion which was so much better for our family of five. We had the best location in the Plaza Suite with a view of Wrigley mansion and in the heart of Avalon. Mr. Pings Chinese restaurant is adjoining the lobby and has great food. Our stay was much quieter during the week. The party crowd moves in on the weekend and there is LOTS of drinking...we were awakened both Friday and Satuyrday by loud drunks shouting in the street.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $108 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing