We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Atwater
Nearby Hotels
Pavilion Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$268
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$178
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$269
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Seacrest Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
176
223
92
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
223
92
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorthird floorsmall bathroomcatalina islandan older hotelbasic amenitieslocation is greatyour luggagebed was comfortablefloor roomcentral locationfront desk staffice machinebeach towelsferry terminalmiddle of townflights of stairs
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 537 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed mid-week and chose this particular hotel for the accomodations they had for divers. We payed a little extra for the upgraded rooms with airconditioners. The hotel is very clean and the room was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I am a hard person to please that way. The room style reminded me of a cottage in the country until you looked out your window at the magnificent mountain view, felt the cool ocean breeze coming in through the window, and realized this is as close to a Hawaii experience as Californians can get. We really did not need the airconditioner because the sea breeze was always going. For some guests the stairs may be challenging as the hotel is multi-level and has no elevators. For divers, they had a rinse-off shower in the back and they stored all of our wet gear for us with speedy service. It is extremely close to Crescent Avenue and for the price, there is no need to pay so much extra at other hotels just to be on the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lovinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Soda Springs, CA
111
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Hotel Atwater suited our needs perfectly. The hotel is older and as such has a lot of character, which I appreciate. The location is extremely convenient and central to everything in Avalon. We stayed in a deluxe queen sized room on the third floor. I recommend upgrading to the deluxe rooms, as they are much nicer than the standard rooms. The deluxe rooms have wooden furniture, nice bedspreads and extras like a hair dryer. The room was a bit small, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom and room were very clean and everything fit our needs just perfectly. The staff is friendly. Hotel Atwater is a great value on Catalina and we will definitely go back. Note: apparently no elevator, so be prepared to climb a few stairs.

Stayed: May 2006
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and were very happy with our choice. We stayed in a non-view room (hey, you're just there to sleep).

This is an older hotel which means no elevator, the rooms are fairly small, and they don't have some amenities (notably A/C and phone, for which a fan included in the room and our cell phones replaced just fine). But the room was clean and neat, the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom perfectly functional. The location was excellent, front desk staff very friendly and helpful, and the rates reasonable (at least for Catalina).

Our room was booked as a package deal through their website which included round trip ferry transportation and an undersea tour, which was a pretty good deal. The front desk staff is able to book tours through Discovery Tours, and you also get a "credit card" which can be used for free admission to Descanso Beach and to charge food/drinks/rentals there to your room. I thought that was a pretty cool feature.

If you're looking for fancy high end accomodations, this isn't the place for you, but for nice basic accomodations with a great location, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ltdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Jolla, CA
14
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We had originally been scheduled to stay at the Pavillion Lodge but it was not available until the second night of our stay, so we were to stay at the Atwater for our first night, then switch. The manager, Scott, gave us a suite for the same price of our double room at the Pavillion which was so much better for our family of five. We had the best location in the Plaza Suite with a view of Wrigley mansion and in the heart of Avalon. Mr. Pings Chinese restaurant is adjoining the lobby and has great food. Our stay was much quieter during the week. The party crowd moves in on the weekend and there is LOTS of drinking...we were awakened both Friday and Satuyrday by loud drunks shouting in the street.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it was only $100 or so a night.

The check in was fast and polite.
Room was clean and well maintained.

We were booked on the second floor and outside our window was the roof of a neighboring building (or our building - not sure). I would guess for safety reasons the windows would not open. Not very comfortable and stuffy.

I asked the front desk attendant if I could switch room and he happily moved us up to the 3rd floor. Windows opened and all was well.

One not of caution - If you're hauling your dive equipment remember they don't have an elevator so you'll have to drag your grear up the stairs.

Again, nothing fancy, but cheap rates and polite service.

We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2005
10  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews