We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Divers”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed mid-week and chose this particular hotel for the accomodations they had for divers. We payed a little extra for the upgraded rooms with airconditioners. The hotel is very clean and the room was very nicely appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I am a hard person to please that way. The room style reminded me of a cottage in the country until you looked out your window at the magnificent mountain view, felt the cool ocean breeze coming in through the window, and realized this is as close to a Hawaii experience as Californians can get. We really did not need the airconditioner because the sea breeze was always going. For some guests the stairs may be challenging as the hotel is multi-level and has no elevators. For divers, they had a rinse-off shower in the back and they stored all of our wet gear for us with speedy service. It is extremely close to Crescent Avenue and for the price, there is no need to pay so much extra at other hotels just to be on the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lovinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 537 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Soda Springs, CA
111
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Hotel Atwater suited our needs perfectly. The hotel is older and as such has a lot of character, which I appreciate. The location is extremely convenient and central to everything in Avalon. We stayed in a deluxe queen sized room on the third floor. I recommend upgrading to the deluxe rooms, as they are much nicer than the standard rooms. The deluxe rooms have wooden furniture, nice bedspreads and extras like a hair dryer. The room was a bit small, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom and room were very clean and everything fit our needs just perfectly. The staff is friendly. Hotel Atwater is a great value on Catalina and we will definitely go back. Note: apparently no elevator, so be prepared to climb a few stairs.

Stayed: May 2006
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and were very happy with our choice. We stayed in a non-view room (hey, you're just there to sleep).

This is an older hotel which means no elevator, the rooms are fairly small, and they don't have some amenities (notably A/C and phone, for which a fan included in the room and our cell phones replaced just fine). But the room was clean and neat, the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom perfectly functional. The location was excellent, front desk staff very friendly and helpful, and the rates reasonable (at least for Catalina).

Our room was booked as a package deal through their website which included round trip ferry transportation and an undersea tour, which was a pretty good deal. The front desk staff is able to book tours through Discovery Tours, and you also get a "credit card" which can be used for free admission to Descanso Beach and to charge food/drinks/rentals there to your room. I thought that was a pretty cool feature.

If you're looking for fancy high end accomodations, this isn't the place for you, but for nice basic accomodations with a great location, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ltdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
La Jolla, CA
14
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We had originally been scheduled to stay at the Pavillion Lodge but it was not available until the second night of our stay, so we were to stay at the Atwater for our first night, then switch. The manager, Scott, gave us a suite for the same price of our double room at the Pavillion which was so much better for our family of five. We had the best location in the Plaza Suite with a view of Wrigley mansion and in the heart of Avalon. Mr. Pings Chinese restaurant is adjoining the lobby and has great food. Our stay was much quieter during the week. The party crowd moves in on the weekend and there is LOTS of drinking...we were awakened both Friday and Satuyrday by loud drunks shouting in the street.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it was only $100 or so a night.

The check in was fast and polite.
Room was clean and well maintained.

We were booked on the second floor and outside our window was the roof of a neighboring building (or our building - not sure). I would guess for safety reasons the windows would not open. Not very comfortable and stuffy.

I asked the front desk attendant if I could switch room and he happily moved us up to the 3rd floor. Windows opened and all was well.

One not of caution - If you're hauling your dive equipment remember they don't have an elevator so you'll have to drag your grear up the stairs.

Again, nothing fancy, but cheap rates and polite service.

We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2005
10  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
114
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Atwater for a weekend. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is not a grand 5-star but by no means is it a dive either:)A nice and cozy room with basic amenities eg..coffee, fan, tv, walk in closet, iron+board..etc
Our luggage was transported back and forth from the boats. The dinner and lunch recommendations were great.
Overall we had a great time on the island and we were able to get a great room at a VERY REASONABLE price.
If you are looking to have a great time on your vacation but need an inexpensive lodging..go for ATWATER..!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oakland, CA
110
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Such a quaint hotel, conveniently located 1/2 block from the beach, the room was clean and beautifully decorated, and the employees treated us like family. We'd brought our bikes with us from the mainland so we were able to store them in the storage room (conveniently located just off the lobby) without any additional charge, yet had full access to them anytime we wanted.

The Atwater, like several other Avalon hotels, has an arrangement to transfer your bags to/from the ferry at no additional charge, which was a great option. The hotel's recommendation for dinner at Armstrong's was an excellent suggestion.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to others and I intend to stay here again. Just perfect!

Stayed: August 2005
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $1,118 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing