We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable Lodging”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Garden Grove, CA
117
Reviewed August 23, 2004

Last week my sister and I stayed 3 nights at the Atwater and found it very satisfactory indeed. We got one of the "economy" rooms--no A/C, but on cool, breezy Catalina an electric fan (supplied) is all you need.

The hotel's location is perfect--1/2 block from the beach and right in the middle of town.

We'd asked for a nonsmoking room and got one. The room was clean and sweet-smelling. The private bath had obviously been added on later, as the washbasin was in the room, but everything worked fine. The king bed was comfortable and there were extra blankets in pillows in the closet. Yes, the closet--there was a real closet in the room. The room was compact but not claustrophobic; it had a table and two chairs and a desk/vanity table.

We didn't have a view, but that wasn't a big consideration for us. We just wanted a clean, comfortable place to rest and sleep, and the Atwater filled the bill perfectly.

The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and got our luggage back to the boat dock without a problem.

We definitely plan to stay at the Atwater again--although next time we'll opt for a third-floor room, as there was a bit of street noise on our last night. (A US Navy ship was in harbor for shore leave!)

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 536 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
denver, colorado
112
Reviewed February 17, 2004

This is the worst place that i have ever stayed at. It was supposed to be a fun field trip, but is sure wasn't. The rooms smelt so bad that i had to spray hairspray all around. it was also very humid in the hotel rooms. it had a verry musty smell to it. I only had fun when i was outside of the hotel in the sun. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. The picture on the internet does not look at all like the rooms really are. They are so small you could barly live there for a minute without getting costrophobic. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!! EACH YEAR THAT I GO HERE IT KEEPS GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. IT IS NOT GOOD FOR FEILD TRIPS EITHER.!@!!!@@@

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
219
Reviewed November 27, 2003

I've roomed at the Atwater on my last two visits to Catalina as a scuba diver, with and without my family. As a diver, my intent is to eat, sleep and dive. My room was economically priced and that satisfied my needs. I wouldn't recommend the Atwater for a romantic getaway, but it is close to the pier, conveniently located for diving at the Casino, a short walk from a dozen places to eat, and it fits into a challenged budget. Whether it's a disappointment or not depends on your priority as a visitor. I prefer the Pavilion or Best Western for a family weekend. I rely on the Atwater when I'm trying to keep expenses down.
Briefly, don't expect a mint on your pillow in the morning, but it's a good option for a diver on a budget.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2003

We found this hotel to be clean and kid friendly. The newly redone rooms are the only way to go. The lack of an elevator is a pain but you adjust. Location, Location, location. If you want to get the most out of every moment on the island, this is perfect.

8  Thank lyk2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
18
Reviewed September 7, 2003

This place has been affectionately renamed "Ratwater" by an awful lot of people. I have somehow wound up there several times on several trips, and I am less impressed every time.

If someone wakes up early in the building, you will too. I had this problem when some divers woke up on the other side of the building.
Conversational tones manage to carry into every room. So, I went outside in the early morning hours and the first thing I saw was a man in an orange jumpsuit with the words "LA COUNTY JAIL" stenciled on the back. He was sweeping the street of the jail/court/library next door.

I am on vacation. I don't want to see this.

I guess you get what you pay for, but unless you are going to be too toasted to care, I'd find somewhere else to stay.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oceanside, CA
113
Reviewed April 29, 2003

The hotel looked nothing like in their add.The hotel was clean but had a musty smell and the rooms were the smallest I have ever seen. They were also very sparcely furnished.We were so disappointed that we immediately checked out and into another hotel.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2003

This hotel is definitely "not fancy" but I'd stay there again. You really want to book one of the new "recently renovated" rooms as they are SO much nicer and worth the bit extra money. It is very centrally located in Avalon, close to the waterfront. Worse part is the lack of elevator which is making me think twice now that I have a baby and all the stuff that goes along with that, but for the money you can't get a better deal on Catalina Island.

15  Thank LaLa_Girl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $133 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing