We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose this hotel for a weekend birthday getaway, 1st time guest here and will return again and again. The early morning greeting at the front desk from Lark, and Adam started the day out with a upbeat positive atmosphere. Lark pre checked us in said she would call when the room was ready, (which she did)! Lark check all of our planned activities and printed out all the tickets right there at the front desk. due to heavy rains throughout the day, Adam helped make changes to the itinerary and kept us posted if there were any cancellations. All activities went off without a hitch. Ohhhh by the way we were able to check our luggage that morning at the hotel before the room was ready. Diego assisted with the luggage check in. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms no noise, just stairs...queen size bed is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cisnerostg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us at the Hotel Atwater. We loved having you as our guest and thank you for the feedback that you provided on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to pass along to my staff that they helped to make your stay memorable. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    203
    82
    25
    16
See reviews for
127
219
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

They were so helpful and nice! It made the hotel a great family setting. The hotel is next to the beach with shops all around. The hotel is in a safe environment. There wasn't anything I didn't like about the hotel. The thing that made the hotel so great was the service and location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. My team and I are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time in Avalon. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my staff. We hope to see you again soon at the Hotel Atwater.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose this hotel for both price and location. The location is great. You are literally a 30 second walk to all the restaurants, bars, shops and coast. The price I didn't think was too bad considering the other options and locations. We were greeted warmly upon arrival. Rooms were not available however we were able to check our bags and head out for the day. They called when the room was ready at about 2:30pm. Check in was smooth and took only a couple of minutes. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a view towards the ocean. The rooms are small. Bed was very comfortable. New flat screen tv. Clean bathroom but again, very small. If you're seeking a big room with a large bathroom, I think you need to look elsewhere. If you don't mind a small room and desire a great location, with a friendly staff, then the Atwater is your hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely consider the Atwater for our next trip to Catalina.

Room Tip: We were in a room which had a view looking out to the ocean. Not a great view, but nevertheless bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel remodel is just lipstick on a pig. New paint and carpet can't fix a bathroom that was almost unusable. There were no locks on the bathroom doors, toilet literally up against the wall, vanity falling apart and don't get me started on the shower. Catalina is overpriced so its no wonder this place is considered a value. The only saving grace is the location. It couldn't be more centrally located. The staff was nice and the bag check was convenient but the stairs. Stairs, stairs and more stairs.

Room Tip: Only book the "Family" guest room if your family is very, very close and bring earplugs fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLC_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Bryan,

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience at the Hotel Atwater, while I am disappointed to read your feedback, I do thank you. I will be sure to address the bathroom issues with my team right away. I hope that in the future we are able to restore your confidence in the Hotel Atwater. If there is anything else that you would like to let us know about your stay please email us at social@scico.com

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely bed, carpets smell like urine and the halls smell like POT! We have stayed here before and realized its Avalon and didn't expect the Ritz. This visit we paid $448.00 per night for a family room....1 room a King bed connected by a small bathroom to a double Queen bed room. I have referred this Hotel to many folks but mainly because of the Marijuana stench in the hallways I seriously can't anymore. The Front Desk staff were all new people and not the regular year around people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Atwater. I thank you for coming back to stay with us again; however, I am sorry to read about your recent stay. I will be sure to address these issues with my staff immediately. Again, thank you for bringing these to my attention and I hope that we can restore your confidence in us again. If there is anything else that you would like to address please email us at social@scico.com.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old, which is the charm but clean and updated to make more comfortable. The staff was A+ for service. Many rooms with no views but the location is perfect to get out and stroll. Will return to this property:)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlovercarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We loved welcoming you to Avalon. Thank you for the feedback you provided on TripAdvisor, my team and I appreciate it. We hope to see you again next time you are back.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We truly enjoyed our two night stay at the Atwater. Our air-conditioned "upgraded" room had two super comfortable queen size beds with down pillows, a flat-screen t.v., and a decent-sized three piece bathroom with nice toiletries and a hair dryer. Our room was very clean. Although the WiFi was a little sluggish, I've managed to do work email and knock out 4 reviews for Trip Advisor without getting disconnected.

If you stay here, please know there is no elevator, so depending on whether your room is on the second or third floor, you will need to climb stairs. (However, they do have bell staff to assist with luggage.) Also, the rooms are rather sparsely furnished with no dresser drawers to put clothes. Finally, if you're mystified as to how to turn on the lights over the bathroom sink, the switch is on the side of the sink counter, not on the panel inside the door.

The front desk staff was extremely pleasant, particularly Daniel and Nicole. I especially appreciated the coffee and tea service in the lobby each morning.

Tucked on a side street, Hotel Atwater is just steps away from the beach and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was situated facing the back of the building, which offered no view to speak of, but was ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAZMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing