We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot sleep at night. Hear everyone talking as they walk down the hallways”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cannot sleep at night. Hear everyone talking as they walk down the hallways”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a disappointing stay for us at the Hotel Atwater. While the location was wonderful (which is why I gave them a 2 versus 1 rating), the hotel was suboptimal. The connection between the TV and outlet was falling out and not very safe. The shower rod kept falling down. Even though there were 4 of us we had to call almost daily to get extra towels versus share wet towels. Finally and most important the amount of noise made it hard to sleep at night. The walls to the rooms were pretty thin. We could hear the street noises as well as everyone talking and walking down the hall. At one point one woman finally opened the door to yell down the hallway for people to be quiet. I ended up turning on the bathroom fan and leaving it on to attempt to drown the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Atwater. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations and the ones we set for ourselves. We will address your concerns and they will be fixed immediately.

I hope that on your return to Catalina that we are able to restore your confidence in the Hotel Atwater.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    199
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
120
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just came back from a weekend stay at Hotel Atwater and enjoyed our stay on Catalina Island. The staff is very helpful and friendly so that was a nice plus.The room we had was a bit spartan in decor and a tiny bit cramped for space (think cruise ship while showering) but the bed was great, the complimentary morning Starbuck's beverages was an added touch and the location was excellent to use as a base for exploring Catalina. It seemed to us to be a good value when weighing hotel accommodations on the island...so with that said we would strongly consider a repeat visit to the Atwater on any future trips to Catalina.

Room Tip: Consider a lower floor room if someone in your party has difficulty climbing stairs (access to highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013. The location is fantastic! Walking distance to ferry dock in one direction; to the Casino in the other direction, and to many restaurants. The post office is practically next door. The central tour ticket booths and bus tour pickup/drop spot is across the street, as is the miniature golf course. You can buy Santa Catalina Island Company tickets at the front desk as well - make sure to ask about discounts for seniors (55 and up!!!). The Vons Express is a short walk away thru the alley; bring your Vons Club Card to save! The hotel and room were "old school" and were clean and comfortable. They could use a dresser in the room - put it in the huge walk-in closet!. We will be staying here again as the rate was super as well. Staff and housekeeping were very helpful and accommodating. Note: no elevators and we were on the second floor up an L-shaped flight of carpeted stairs. Really old school! And fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Catalina Island. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. My team and I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that next time you visit the island you come back and see us. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Book early for the best deal. Staff is very friendly and ready to help you have a wonderful vacation. I was warmly greeted by the staff. Be prepared to take some stairs. Bell staff will bring your bags to your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Catalina Island and for sharing about your stay on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to hear that you mentioned them in your review. I will let them know that they helped to make your stay memorable.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wasn't expecting much, but the quality of the room was really good for the Catalina hotel rate. We had an upgraded room with larger bathroom. Bed was super comfy. Big flat screen tv. Location was easy. I would definitely stay here again. (room 320)

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade for larger bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived from Newport Beach at 10 a.m. and was able to check right into our room. The clerk was really friendly, fast and answered all our questions. Room was large with two king beds and a very small but very clean bath. Like the rest of the island, furnishing take you back to an earlier time. Very clean and a great ceiling fan. Coffee available in the lobby too! It was really nice at 11 a.m. check out to be leave our bags at the front desk and pick them up at 4 p.m. at the dock. Good price but be sure to book early.

Room Tip: no ocean view rooms but great location makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffdink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Atwater Hotel on your recent visit to Catalina Island. My team and I were happy to have made your stay memorable and helped you with all of your needs. We very much appreciate your kind words.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities and service at our hotel. We hope that you choose to stay at the Atwater next time you return to the island.

Sincerely,

Nick Papadatos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is great, nearly in the middle of the boardwalk. Arriving at the hotel around 9am, we were accommodated right away, didn't have to wait for 3pm to check in. The room itself was nothing fancy. Seems that was the actual approach, to leave some sort of old school vibe for the guests. Rooms were clean and not dusty, no weird smells. No trouble sleeping through the night. Service was great and everyone was pleasant. Personally, I feel the cost was a little high. Although all stays on the island are overpriced, I felt that Hotel Atwater could have been more affordable for what they provide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing