We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

For the money, this hotel is a great value. I have stayed there 3 times and always been happy. If you are going to Catalina to stay in your room the whole, maybe you should look elsewhere. If you are looking for a good price, clean room, and place to sleep, Atwater is the place to stay while visiting Catalina.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 532 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

AAA Travel helped us booked this Hotel considering iit was a new year weekend (Dec 30 to Jan1). We had the economy room with no aircon, only fan / heater / TV, no phone but with wifi. Itt was a decent / clean / basic room. Most of the time we were out enjoying the island (sleep and go).

Suprisingly, what makes it unique was the service (price was OK too). Awesome!

The crew provided all the assistance we need. Extra blanket .. where's the best place to eat. helped to arrange our itirenary.. ticket reservation...

If you're looking for a hotel with decent room, great price and awesome service.. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel (front desk) if they can give you an upgraded room without any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AC_Anaheim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

First, if you are the Four Seasons type, this won't be your cup of tea. If, however, you are more interested in location, value, and cleanliness, you will be pleased.

The Atwater is just a short walk to the beach, and an even shorter walk to the timeless pizza joint across the street (delicious pizza by the slice!). Similarly, you will be close to all attractions, the pleasure pier, bars, and restaurants.

Of course, this is an older property (1920's vintage). You will have stairs to climb, but you can consider this the hotel's "workout facility". Be sure to pay a little extra for a room with air conditioning -- it is worth it!

Expect to pay LESS than half of what the "fancy-schmancy" places in town get. Use the savings for a nice dinner and an extra tour! The staff is quite friendly and helpful too.

All-in-all, Hotel Atwater is an exceptional value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vintage_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is exactly like all the reviews have said, great price, comfortable rooms, central location and wonderful staff. Yes it has stairs, be aware of that and you will be fine. I was very pleased that my room had air conditioning and the room I got for my daughter's family had an ocean/harbor view!

Room Tip: Great view room, if you need two queen beds is "301" Quiet room 222, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonestAbe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel Atwater was perfectly located in the middle of everything, had an awesome staff and the rooms were clean and comfy.. The Family Getaway package was unbeatable in value, plus they even upgraded us to the Underwater excursion tour for free (which is a MUST!!) Whenever we get to come back again, we will def stay here again!

Room Tip: Def try and see if they have anything available on their third floor.. We stayed on the second and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jdandik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is an older style hotel that needs upgrades. However for a night or two you may consider it. The staff are very friendly at the desk and are great at multi-tasking as they deal with the camping crowd too. I have stayed in five star resorts that do not have great staff so they more than make up for it. Coffee is available in the lobby in the mornings and it is close to everything.

Room Tip: No elevator so make sure you can do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okotoks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Everything about this experience was excellent! The family getaway was a great deal and allowed us to do activities that we may have not done otherwise. The hotel was older (as expected in Catalina), but so well maintained and clean. The location was close to the boat landing and beach. The staff was warm and helpful, particularly Juan at the front desk. The only thing I would have changed about the trip is I would have upgraded to a room with air conditioning. Highly recommend the hotel and package!

Room Tip: Rooms in front have some street noise, but nothing major. Just recommend AC so you can close the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilianaCASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $147 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing