We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an expensive disappointment!”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
A TripAdvisor Member
Riverside California
115
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Our first disappointment was finding out that the price of our expensive room did not include taxi pickup at the boat. We had to haul our luggage through the streets and up the hill on our own. When we arrived, we realized our "ocean view balcony room" was on the side overlooking the busy street and neighborhood, not at the front of the building as we had thought we would be getting for a price of well over $200 a night! This small room was definitely not a $200 room. The bathrroom door must remain closed or the the fire alarms will go off from the steam, and it is not pleasant to suffer in a steamy bathroom while you are getting ready. The decore is from a Luke and Laura 1970's time period (mauve and mint green). The shower needed to be regrouted and had a hard time draining. The water temperature would turn from hot to cold at different times, and the bath counter was falling down. There was no coffee maker, and the hotel coffee was not delicious. We will not stay there again and will not recommend it to anyone. The St. Lauren was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Lauren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 362 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Simi Valley
110
Reviewed October 12, 2005

My husband and I are California natives but had never been to Catalina. We went the weekend of June 24-25-26.

First, the location of the hotel is perfect because it is just off the busy, noisy-until-2:00am-main drag. If you talk to people staying in hotels along the waterfront - they are sleep deprived from the late night and early morning racket of people just having fun.

Unless you are in really bad shape, the walk to the hotel from the boat dock didn't take more than 15-20 minutes with rolling suitcases. The hill isn't that steep or arduous.

The room we had was clean, charming and 'just modern enough.' Beefy shower pressure (this is a biggie for me!), hair dryer, nice-sized color TV in the armoir. The weather was warm and balmy so we left the window wide open and slept great.

The parlor downstairs where they serve morning coffee, juice and some sort of croissant was a nice gathering place to talk to fellow guests - if you wanted to. The rooms must be soundproof because we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

Ahhh...the rooftop is wonderful! We brought our books up there Saturday afternoon and were up there undisturbed for over 2 hours. The breeze and peacefullness really made the vacation for us. It was so refreshing we still talk about that relaxing afternoon and going back. We only came down because I was craving ice cream from Cold Stone Creamery just down the street.

We would definitely stay at the St. Lauren again. For an older hotel it is beautifully maintained and doesn't have that yucky moth-bally grandma house smell that some places get over time.

If you want a relaxing, romantic, getaway this is it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Pedro, CA
19
Reviewed September 27, 2005

I surprised my BF *ED* w/ a trip 2 Catalina. The first & last time I was in Catalina was a horrible experience so I was hoping this time would make up for it. I booked Hotel St. Lauren because it was my favorite color, PINK! JK! WE love Victorian style homes so this hotel was PERFECT! We arrived @ our hotel about 1230-1pm & checked in early. Then we roamed the city. Our room was AWESOME! It had a scenic view of Avalon, a jacuzzi tub & a balcony. We definitely got more bang for our buck! It was an AWESOME experience & I'll definitely return to Hotel St. Lauren in the near future or more likely annually from now on =) THANKS!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Queen Creek,AZ.
110
Reviewed September 23, 2005

This was our first time to Catalina Island and to the Hotel St.Lauren. I would NEVER stay here again. The room was pleasent but, small for the high price they charge of over $200.00 a night. Our disappointment was they could careless about their customers and thought it was ok to charge us $50.00 extra for not being out of the room by 11:00 am. Word to the wise...........the check in time is 3:00 pm and check out is 11:00 am. They will NOT let you in your room till 3:00 pm..........which I think is not very accomadating for a traveler who is tired.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Stayed here for one night this past Sunday. The hotel was ok, we booked what they call the family room that has two queen beds and two bathrooms. A good room for families. It is actually two separate rooms with a folding divider in the middle. Pretty roomy. It was clean but nothing special. Had some ants on one of the sinks.

Not too crazy about the location as it is about two blocks up a hill from the beach.

Not too crazy either with the woman who was working there when I checked in. Gave me the look of death when I walked in and it was downhill from there. Did deal with some other nicer people the next day at least. They did serve continental breakfast, juice, coffee, apples, and croissants. Overall, it was ok but, I wouldn't stay there again. I would opt for a place closer to the beach area. However, if you need a big room, the family room is about the biggest room you will find on the island and the two bathrooms is a plus.

Pete

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peterlc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2004

We stayed at the St. Lauren for just one night in July. We had a pleasant stay as the hotel was clean and the service was friendly. The hotel laso offered us the use of a new crib for our daughter which was awesome! Nice location, except for the killer hill!

2  Thank louishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
110
Reviewed June 27, 2004

We were initially dismayed when we arrived to discover MAJOR construction is underway next door (something we were not told at the time of booking). Luckily we were on the quieter side of the hotel. Our room was a partial view king on the 6th floor. The room was clean, but a tad bit worn (but most of the hotels in Avalon appeared that way to me). The sheets were sort of scratchy, but there were ample pillows and towels. The windows didn't open very far and there was no window in the bathroom. The worst thing I can say is that the breakfast was really lacking (we skipped it completely after the 1st day). The view from the 6th floor balcony is spectacular and is a comfortable place to lounge with a book or glass of wine. The location is fantastic (off the beaten track, but close to all) if you don't mind the short up hill walk. All in all I would stay at the St. Lauren again, but not before checking on the ameneties of a few other hotels first.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#11 of 20 in Avalon
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $143 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing