We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome rooftop deck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Awesome rooftop deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Hotel St. Lauren is a good place to stay in Avalon; my husband and I have stayed in quite a few different hotels in Avalon over the years and have found that you definitely get what you pay for. The St. Lauren is the place we have gone back to a number of times now. The location is a little off the main drag, but that's good because you get a lot less street noise at night - those little golf carts are noisy! Our room was very adequate - clean with plenty of space. The best part about the hotel is the 6th floor deck with amazing views of the bay and mountains. Unfortunately, they close it at 8pm - it would have been nice to sit up there after dinner to enjoy the lights. Check in was painless; we arrived quite early in the day, but we were able to store our luggage and after having lunch in town the hotel called to say our room was ready. Check out was the same; we stored our luggage all day until our ferry departed at 7:30pm. My only wish is that they had mini fridges in the rooms, oh - and more towel racks. There wasn't a towel rack at all anywhere near the sink. Minor complaints compared with the service and value of the St. Lauren.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizab2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    132
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
71
152
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I should preface this by commending the excellent customer service. I have to give a shout out to Vicky, front desk staff, for being very friendly and helpful.
I should also qualify everything by saying that we did book at the very last minute during peak season, and had a hard time finding anything at all for a rate that I would characterize as reasonable.
That being said, this place really fails to deliver value. We paid over 300 for a room with an "ocean view" which turned out to mean several blocks from the water front with an ocean horizon just barely visible beyond surrounding buildings. There was a whirlpool tub as advertised, and the room was spacious, but lacked even the sh1tty motel room basics of a fridge and coffee maker. We attempted to chill our beer in the ice bucket, which was messy and annoying.
In the morning we went downstairs to get our barely acceptable coffee with powdered creamer and complete lack of pastries or any other breakfast items. If you're charging 300 per room you'd think you could spring for a bear claw or two. Overall, I feel gyped. Really, dude? It was a conscious effort not to let the cost of this barely acceptable accommodation ruin our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Apropas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Never having ben to Catalina before, my family wasn't expecting much. Hotel St. Lauren was better than we had hoped! Great room size, quiet, comfortable clean rooms. Staff was especially helpful. The balcony was beyond wonderful with sweeping views and just a great place to recuperate and relax. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishMcMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I agree with many of the less than stellar reviews of the hotel, but am surprised that many gave three circles anyway. This place will take you back to the 80's quickly. There is a mauve, grape and burgundy color scheme that gets tiresome quickly.

The room (510) is small, so there is no room for a bedside table on one side. On the other side is a desk There are three overhead lights and only one lamp. And the obligatory 80's ceiling fan. The bathroom smelled of mildew, with a whiff of ammonia, thus the reason I only gave this hotel two circles. Though the bathroom was clean, the tile was scratched like a five year old had keyed the bathtub. Carpet is indoor/outdoor quality, TV is a 19 inch cathode ray tube. The coffee had powdered creme, no fresh milk. The 'city view' is a wall and windows 15 feet away from another building.

On the plus side, all of the staff that I dealt with are very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was the only hotel on the island that would let us book just 1 night on a weekend. There were 4 of us and we wanted 1 room. The room we had was huge! It was basically 2 rooms but with no wall separating the 2 rooms. The beds were OK, not the best but not the worst.

There is a balcony off the top floor (we stayed on the top floor) which would have been nice to use but the hotel locks it up at 8:00 pm...pretty early! I can understand for noise control, but really, 8:00 pm??

The location is convenient to restaurants and shops along the main drag of town.

Room Tip: If you want 4 people to a room with 2 beds, get the room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Labbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We could not have been more satisfied. Right location, right roof top patio, lovely old mansion type establishment. We loved it. Plan to be back in the future. Avalon is a typical old island town. This property fits right in.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The view from our room was of another room but the view from the public balcony was not only very open but awesome. We had a great time here, the staff was nice and the hotel was clean. There wasn't anything fancy about this hotel but it wasn't too expensive either. It is a little bit of walk to the shore but we are walkers, and you are walking in Catalina. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing