We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Lauren Hotel”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We scouted this hotel during our visit to the island in August. Very clean property, helpful front desk, gorgeous common patio on the 6th floor, and decided to stay there on our September visit. Very quiet, nice room, and we will go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The building on the outside was cute and the view from the patio was gorgeous,
However, we spent $300 a night for an old guest room at a hotel with low occupancy in a low season.
The disappointment unfortunately did not end there. Front desk staff need some training or re-training on how to smile and how to interact with guests. They don't acknowledge a guest's presence and they carry on their private conversations in a foreign language even in the presence of a guest.
When we asked if we could leave our luggage for few hours in a secure place, we were informed that: "there is a staircase under the staircase and it doesn't lock so leave them at your own risk" When we asked if she meant storage, the reply was: "whatever".
I would recommend some training on guest service and maybe remodel a little, because the bathroom, bed and carpet and screaming to retire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel St. Lauren is ideally situated to offer full access to Avalon. It's a block from the beach and main street, and only about five blocks from the casino. Virtually everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself has old-time charm, with chintz bedspreads and curtains. Beds are comfortable, baths are very clean. And it's moderately priced, which makes it a good bet for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraleeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pretty Victorian Building - very dated and tired looking inside - in need of upgrade. There is also NO SECURE luggage location - would be easy to address if they put lock on door to area where luggage is stored and took responsibility for locked luggage. With check in /check out hours not matching well with ferry service schedules - you will absolutely need to have your luggage stored. There is a nice patio on the 6th floor, but if you want to enjoy a nice bottle of wine or any beverage, no glassware provide. Should provide range of glassware for customers. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay in Catalina. The St. Lauren was perfect - we were traveling with our kids - so we didn't want to spend too much money on the hotel. This was ideal - very affordable - especially if you can travel mid week - we arrived on Sunday and checked out on Wednesday ($99 a night). They were kind enough to hold all our luggage until the room was ready. We arrived at 10:30 a.m. and left our luggage at the hotel. We walked (5 minutes) to the beach and had breakfast at Joe's Place - delish!! There's a Vons grocery store halfway down to the beach. When we checked out at 11:00 a.m. - they once again stored our luggage till our boat trip back - 5:00 p.m.. They have a beautiful rooftop patio - see the sunset and the entire port area and mountains to the right. Also have coffee service every morning - no breakfast. We will def. return to the St. Lauren - affordable, clean, and perfectly located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had decided to stay an extra day and our hotel was sold out for Friday so we found Hotel St. Lauren. The location is great, close to everything. The "patio" on the sixth floor offers stunning views of the bay. Since it was a Friday night, we probably paid the "weekend rate" of $199 for a King room with a partial ocean view. We were extremely pleased that our room was ready when we had to check out from our other hotel so we could bring our bags right over and take a quick nap.

The room was fine but dated. Little things like the window trim, the cover to the AC unit were cracked or broken. The bathroom was especially dated and the soap/shampoo offerings was minimal, No shower cap!! The shower control ring that "tells" you how to operate it wasn't attached to the control and spun around. I had to get my glasses to align the ring before I took a shower. Just little stuff like that.... I expected a little more for $199. The bed was a little too bouncy for me but fortunately, my husband had a sound sleep so I didn't get bounced around.

I was grossed out by the dirty door from the bathroom into the room. It really could have used a good washing. There were hand prints on the door. It was yucky. I washed the door knob. That said, the shower head was great and I had a really nice shower with good water pressure.

I honestly can't say if we'd come back. We really liked our other hotel (name withheld) because they had wine and cheese in the afternoon and a large continental breakfast. Nonetheless, we were grateful to be able to find a place to extend our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undertraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and myself just celebrated our 3rd anniversary and I picked this hotel. In the picture was so beautiful, in person was outstanding. Victorian style just 5 minutes walking distance to the beach. The service was very good. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a lot staying in this hotel. It was affordable. The Patio view was beautiful. We recommend this hotel for a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanTom981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,144 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $132 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing