We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass Bottom Boat Tour

Glass Bottom Boat Tour
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Since I was young, I also associated a glass bottom boat with Catalina so we had to check into taking a ride in one. We were told the senior price was $12. We thought that sounded good so we came back after lunch. When we were charged $28 for 2, we were told, "oh, there's port charges". I guess they forgot. Still we thought $14 wasn't bad. Then when you get on the boat they try to get another $5 from you for fish food. There was a place to buy fish food on the wharf for $2 had we known. The captain, or driver, or whatever he was, tried to be funny, but didn't succeed too well. This was definitely the worse waste of money we did while on Catalina. The "sub" boat was much, much better. They fed the fish and there were hundreds of them and several different kinds. You could see them and the kelp much better! I would recommend that over this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SOUPY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went with the Catalina Adventures glass bottom boat tour. It was great, they had fish food to purchase for an extra $5. We didn't buy any because we got to enjoy others who bought it. Make sure to sit in the front there are two viewing areas instead of just one. Overall the experience was just good because there wasn't a wide variety of fish. Great experience for kids!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Green31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clear water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was the perfect thing to do on an unseasonably cool day. We were plenty warm in the boat ( the side flaps could roll down to protect from the ocean breezes.). We had a very informative captain, along with the 'find a fish' pamphlet they gave out so you could easily identify the fish you could see thorough the glass bottom of the boat. Would be safe and fun for even the youngest children. Nice way to spend under an hour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasRangerroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Groupon was certainly worth the price. We had a great tour and saw the wonders in the harbor area without getting our feet wet. This hour tour is great no matter the time of year you visit. We were there in early December and the captain made the effort to show us everything that was swimming in the harbor at the time. We looked down through a great glass, had the opportunity to feed the sea life and enjoyed the company of other enthusiastic travelers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the dumbest thing we did on the island. The seating areas have a sealife viewing window in front of you, which would be fine if it was clear, but it is probably plexiglass, and is shadowy. They take you to a couple of areas to see the fish, but if you don't buy their fish food at $5 a pop, you won't see any. When you drop the fish food, the fish come quickly--but pretty much all we saw was brown sea bass. Then the "excitement" came. The operator tells you that they have had a sighting of a great white, and he follows his "fish radar" to take you to see it. It takes several min., during which time you are "treated" to his running commentary, but you see no fish. Finally, he literally drops a plastic 12" shark onto one of the plexi windows near the front of the boat, and gives you his excited speel about the shark. It wastes about 5 min., and even then, not even the children were excited. That pretty much sums up how wonderful this tour is. By all means, skip it, and don't waste your money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat Tour also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing