We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and good tasting”
Review of Joe's Place - CLOSED

Joe's Place
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Affordable and good tasting”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The breakfast servings are plentiful and taste good. The prices are affordable. And the location is directly across the pier and beach area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheresaZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    12
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“maybe because they were busy...”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

service, when we finally had a server come to us was so-so; omelet was terrible, tasted like they used a canned cheese instead of real cheese. would not eat here again...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Things not to do in Avalon, CA”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

During a recent day trip to Avalon, CA (Catalina Island) we decided to eat lunch at Joe’s Place. The place was busy which was a good sign to us. We ordered hamburgers and fries and soft drinks, we didn’t expect an awesome meal, it was just hamburgers but we did expect decent food since each burger was around $11.00! The burgers were small and tasteless, the fries were under cooked, and soft drinks are soft drinks. Service was slow but we cut them some slack as they were very busy. Are food arrived and we never seen our server again, we walked to the counter and asked for our ticket which they could not find, when they did it was $44.00! We could have eaten at Five Guys burgers for that price!

I would not recommend this place to anyone, the crowd is misleading it was a busy day on the island so every place was packed. Way over priced and very marginal food and portions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pass.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Came to have lunch here and the waitress acted like we werent there WHICH WE WERE THE ONLY ONES THERE in a large group. I ordered the tuna melt was average-ish, stingy with the fries. Service was poor waitress wouldn't check back on us, too busy talking it up with the cook must've been more important.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TooHonest9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very poor service...food just ok”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

When we arrived there were a couple girls working the front counter. They finished their conversation before acknowledging our presence. They looked at us annoyed as if we'd interupted them. The table had food and hair on it. The waiter took his hand and wiped up the food then took our order. When I asked for a fork I got major attitude. We tried to be really kind and nice but couldnt wait to get out of there. Just felt like they were more interested in each other than their customers. Will not go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vespagal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Place also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing