We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST SEE”

Catalina Island Casino Ballroom
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Few words can describe the ambiance of the Catalina Casino: it epitomizes everything glamorous and romantic about Catalina Island. The one-of-a-kind venue is simply stunning inside, outside, and all around. If the meticulously decorated walls could talk, they’d tell countless stories of romance and celebration gathered from decades of memorable events. The immense, Deco-themed ballroom is large enough to contain weddings, large meetings or lectures or musical events. The Casino has retained its signature lavish style: a stunning medley of rose-hued walls, an arching, 50-foot ceiling with five Tiffany chandeliers, an elevated stage, raised seating areas surrounding the wooden dance floor, and a vintage full-service bar anchoring the back. A sweeping veranda surrounds the ballroom with stunning 360-degree views of Avalon Bay.
Chehalis
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

What a terrific amount of history. The people who show you around are very informative and know their stuff. Fun to go to a movie there with the wonderful acousics.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Molly1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    49
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Please dance on this ballroom floor and see how it must have been years ago! Step back in time and feel the romance!
There are various events in which you can dance in the ballroom. One event is the Catalina swing dance festival
Beware of steep ramps up to ballroom,difficult for injuries,all kinds....... judging by the moans and groans of both fit looking dancers and older people.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Swingdancers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el segundo, ca
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to Dance in the WORLD”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you get a chance go to Catalina Island and stay several days there (or more) and be sure to plan your stay around one of the fabulous dance nights at the Casino Ballroom. My husband and I absolutely love the dance floor there. WE aren't selling anything or promoting anyone's business there. We just love dancing on that ballroom floor. We also love being in Catalina. Catalina Island is just an hour away from Long beach- yes we take the Catalina Express. We love it! We have stayed at many hotels and places to stay in Avalon- most places you will stay there will be noises from go carts (and some cars) driving by or trash trucks or food delivery trucks or partiers. There are very few places to stay where it is quiet- we know them and won't give up the secrets!!! keeping that for ourselves...
Don't forget New Year's eve dance at the ballroom. We can't go this year- husband is fighting cancer. We are hoping for next year for sure- also the Avalon Ball!!! see you there!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank amazingmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Guide was informative & funny. View from the balcony was spectacular.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LynetteMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for the Jazz Festival”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Love love love that ballroom. So glad its been restored. Nice veiws. Old bathrooms, hat check rooms. You can just see the people in its heyday.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank WishIwasthere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Casino Ballroom also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Catalina Island, CA
 

Been to Catalina Island Casino Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing