We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Mr. Ning's Chinese Garden
Ranked #18 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

An all-around great dining option on the island. This was my second time dining here and it didn't disappoint. Service is excellent, food is delicious, restaurant is clean and cute.

This is one of my favorite Chinese food restaurants, period.. not just on the island. I would eat here regularly if I lived close by.

We had beef lo mein and kung pao chicken (with white meat only). Both were cooked to perfection, not too much sauce, not too little. Veggies were fresh. They brought us crispy noodles to snack on while we waited for our food & brought out a big bottle of sriracha upon request.

A+ in my book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    55
    32
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Waa Wonton Soup”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Three sisters run and own this restaurant and they are the best people you will meet. Their food is great and if you want a wonton soup you have never had order the waa wonton. It is the best, full of wontons, shrimp, vegetables just amazing. Everything we have ever had has been good. The only strange thing is when they serve you the noodles they give you hot mustard and ketchup, just never had that before. Stop in you will not be sorry.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 16lob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate there on our first night in Avalon. We were tired and hungry. It satisfied me. Get the lo mein.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milo7961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Super fast once we placed our order. Food was tasty and hot. Two of us tried something new to us (shrimp and broccoli) and one had his standby fave (mongolian beef). We also had the won-tons, which were tasty, too! We didn't care for the crunchy chow mein noodles served like bread (free at beginning of meal). They tasted stale and a bit greasy, but everything else was yummy and a good value for Avalon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarinSDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The service was absolutely fantastic. The price was excellent!! I just wish I had more more more. Seems to be a local hangout also. When the locals eat there its pretty good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenaiMorehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Ning's Chinese Garden also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Ning's Chinese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing