We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here unless you love tobacco smoke or plan to hide in your room”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you love tobacco smoke or plan to hide in your room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

It's true, the rooms are nonsmoking, but that can't be said for anywhere else in the hotel. The place is architecturally lovely but there are multiple ashtrays in the courtyard on every level and 5 or 6 on the small sundeck alone! All have tables and chairs next to them. I can't remember seeing that # of ashtrays in such a small space in California in years, and other guests made the same comment.

That's not an accommodation to smokers, it's an engraved invitation to smoke in every inch of the place that isn't in a room.

The building is visually lovely but the design and the concentration of "you are welcome to smoke here" spots leads to smoke getting sucked up through the entire building. The sundeck is effectively unusable to people who can't tolerate tobacco smoke, and any number of people who were up there with us complained that their experience was marred as a result. It definitely ruined my stay, and the excuses were extremely lame. Nonsmokers pay as much as smokers for rooms here, and we should have equal access to the amenities. If this place wants to set itself up as a smokers' paradise, it should advertise itself as such. They did not directly lie on their web site, but it wasn't exactly full information either.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lrgpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalinatime, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments following your stay with us. Unfortunately as hard as hotels work to provide our guests with a smoke free environment we still have people who are inconsiderate and smoke outside the smoking areas. Please note that ALL of our rooms are non-smoking and we do have designated smoking areas in our property. We will continue to work on this issue until we become a full non-smoking property but these things take time to accomplish. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences during your stay and consider giving us another opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    140
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
255
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We have stayed here several times and always found the rooms clean, comfortable, quiet and the staff extremely helpful. We love the location and the attached restaurant. Very good value! The upstairs sun deck with a view of the harbor is an added plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Kudos and 5 stars to Hotel Portofino! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, so our stay was very importnat. The hotel and staff were wonderful! The restauarant next door was terrific and made the stay even sweeter. Thank you, Hotel Portofino, you are our #1 choice when visiting the island!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Our room was more than comfortable and we had great service from all of the staff.
Do not miss the continental breakfast with a great seating area and view of the bay.

The staff at the hotel is excellent. The location could not have been better and they were quick with excellent advice concerning activities and sightseeing. Our room was comfortable and charming and the service in all respects was excellent. The facility is right across the street from the Catalina Harbor and very charming. DO NOT MISS THE ROOFTOP SUNDECK WITH VIEW OF CATALINA HARBOR.

The Italian Ristorante is right in the hotel and serves delicious dinning beautifully served in a lovely, romantic atmosphere. Other restaurants are nearby within easy walking distance, but do nothing quite like this one.

Do not miss the opportunity to stay in the lovely Villa Portofino. We will plan a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank risingsun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent Labor Day week on Catalina Island and had a great time! It was an easy 10-15 minute walk from the Catalina Express ferry landing to the hotel. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating during our stay. Our room #207 was on the second floor and had a king size bed, coffee maker and small fridge that was nice to have.

There is no elevator so if you need help with your luggage just let the hotel staff know when you check in. The only small issue was the room was a bit dark. There was only one window and a sliding glass door that also had a wood shutter panel. We weren't in the room that much during the day but when we were we kept the sliding door open to let fresh air and light in. We were right near the rooftop patio and that was a plus for this hotel. It was a good spot to have a glass of wine and enjoy the amazing view of the harbor. There wasn't any wine glasses in the room but the front desk was very agreeable in providing them for us to use when I asked them.

Another big plus, is that the hotel's restaurant, VP, is the "best" restaurant on the island in our opinion. We ate here twice for dinner - the food and service was excellent. We would have enjoyed lunch here but unfortunately they are only open for dinner. The VP restaurant has a small outdoor patio where you can sit at the tables when you are having the continental breakfast that the hotel provides. The hotel's small front lobby is also where you can get coffee, OJ, muffins/croissants/scones available in the morning. The hotel location is at the quieter end of the main street. It's next to a lovely walkway to the Casino/Theater and Descaso Beach (where people can swim) . There is a Von's grocery store and Metropole cafe/deli that is around the corner from hotel and nearby is Big Olafs ice cream - the best place for homemade waffle ice cream cones.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0rt0bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Online pictures make the room look more luxurious than it actually is. The staff was pleasant and we had no problems. Our suite was oceanfront but the morning traffic was rather noisy. Of course, the hotel is not to blame for that. Just a trade-off because it's situated on the main street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegotoday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

My wife and I booked this trip for our 2 year anniversary. it was by far the best choice. The hotel room was a little small for the price, but the kindness of ALL of the staff was above and beyond. I would defintately reccomend! We didn't get a room with a water front view, but there is a sun deck with PLENTY of space to lay out. We bacame regulars on this trip. Thank you Villa Portofino for making our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrock013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing