We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Loved the location; a little shock and amazed by the tiny room size based on the price we paid and wondered how they took the room photo that's online. From talking to other travelers; small sems to be the island way. We didn't spend out time in the room. so it didn't matter much. We enjoyed the Zip-line and our favorite spot was Descanso Beach sipping cocktails and enjoying the crowd.
The staff was awesome and even brought us a bottle of champagne when I mentioned it was my boyfirends birthday. The rooftop deck is fabulous, although it's only open from 10am-10pm. Our room was on the first level 103 and very noisy in the mornings with people heading down to breakfast. I would definitely stay here again; although in a larger room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommamo0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 507 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2010

Nice location at the end of Crescent Drive so it is quieter than other hotels. Rooms are fine, what you would expect. Staff was nice. All in all, a good place.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahSarahcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

A relaxing island get-away. This was our second stay at Villa Portofino. 10 years ago, we stayed in a standard room courtyard room, which we found a bit claustrophobic, though we enjoyed the hotel's ocean view deck. This time, we upgraded to a deluxe room, which turned out to be spacious, with a lovely balcony, sitting area and gas log fireplace. While the continental breakfast - pastry, juice and coffee - got a little monotonous on the third day, there's no question we'll stay here again on our next visit. We just wish it was a bit closer to the ferry dock, as the walk with our luggage is a bit long. But since we could have taken a cab for $10, it's obviously not that big a deal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAAardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

The hotel management was very understanding when our ferry out of Marina del Rey was cancelled due to winds at 30 + knots and multiple swells. We will definitly choose this hotel when we reschedule our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank thousandoaks_CACarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I come to Avalon regularly for diving and relaxation. I love staying at the Hotel Villa Portofino because it's right on the main street and within walking distance to everything. The staff is friendly and very helpful - eager to answer any of your questions. A small continental breakfast is included in the price making it a great value. Make sure you go up to their rooftop deck, relax on a lounge chair and breathe in the delicious view of the harbor. You can't beat it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachGirl021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I loved the hotel stay and the staff. Everything was perfect from warm friendly staff to nice rooms. I really enjoyed the cucumber water at their front desk especially after a long run thoughout the hills of Avalon. I will continue to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvalonRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Went to Catalina this week on a whim and found the Limited Offer Package at this hotel. The website said rates started at $100 per person. Seemed like a good deal (included the boat trip from Pedro, a glass bottom boat trip, and one night). I think it ended up being $109 per person once tax was added.
The room was smaller than most I'm used to, but it was nice and clean. The staff was super friendly, and once I found out how much the boat ride was if I bought it on my own (over $60) I started realizing how good a deal we got.
We went in the quiet season so there wasn't as much to do. But most of my complaints have to do with the tours/restaurants being closed (which I'll post on separately). The staff at the hotel was at least very helpful in recommending the things to do during this time of tthe year.
I think this is a great place to go to if you're looking for a quiet location. It's near everything and the staff is nice. The rooms a bit small, (apparently we had the cheapest room - could've had a larger room if we paid more). But overall, was a great stay! :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $118 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing