We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed over here over last weekend. Here is a tip for all those travelers looking for hotels to stay at Catalina./Avalon, don't just look at expedia! Many hotels are Catalina/avalon are small, boutique ones that don't participate in global distribution system. Expedia showed all hotels booked up and full on the dates I needed, so I researched every single hotel in Catalina/Avalon and went to each individual website (some of them I needed to call) and asked for rates. This hotel struck me as the best option, as it allowed for a one-night weekend stay (no minimum stay like many hotels) and can fit four in one room in selected rooms! The room I got was 1 double plus 1 twin, plus an optional futon spread on the floor that can fit four. I paid around $200 for the room, a little expensive, but it was one of the few hotels that do not have minimum stay requirement.

Pro
- Great location - right outside the beach (separated by walkway though)
- One of the closest hotel to the casino
- Great cheerful staff and very friendly service
- Fantastic continental breakfast daily in the lobby with delicious muffins, croissants and scones
- Ice water service in lobby
- Wonderful room decor - very clean, sleek and modern
- large Fridge, iron board and air dryer in room
- Beach chairs and towel service
- Sundeck on the rooftop was nice

Cons
- No swimming pool
- Rooms were definitely on the small size
- Flatscreen TV in some rooms (not mine)
- Very few rooms actually face the ocean - I believe only the suites do, I believe all the rooms face an inner courtyard - so not much privacy unless you close the binds/french door
- Water pressure in shower a little on the weak side

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    146
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
95
267
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Crank up the fireplace, open your windows and listen to the lapping shores of the Pacific. What a way to start your Avalon day. Again, our stay at the Hotel Villa Portofino was all that we had imagined.

I like this place. Not only is the staff warm and accommodating, but the place is intimate enough to make you feel like you’re visiting a small Italian village. Their restaurant downstairs is one of the best in Avalon and a real bargain considering these trying economic times.

Don't forget to to sample their ample continental breakfast, best enjoyed on one of the many benches by the beach. As you gaze at the waves, be sure to count your blessings. Life is good.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

The rooms are small and basic but, the staff is friendly and accomodating. The sundeck is a place to waste the days away. A great little find.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank vizmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The bf and I just returned from a fun one night gettaway to Catalina Island. Though the hotel was a bit outdated and our Courtyard King room was small, it was an overall good experience. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. They allowed us to check in early and check out late at no extra charge, provided recommendations of restaurants and things to do around the island, were glad to answer any questions we had and treated us as guests even after we had checked out. SCUBA diving was the main reason for this trip, we had a rolling cart with tanks and gear in it that we were able to leave outside our room's glass sliding door.
The location was great, just a short walk to everything, including the Avalon Underwater Park right by the Casino. Not once did were we in need of a cab or golf cart.

  • Liked — Great staff at front desk.
  • Disliked — Hotel was outdated and did not have a pool.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suite_escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I spent three great days in Avalon and the Hotel Villa Portofino. This was our first vacation without kids in five years and it was fantastic. Catalina itself is great but our stay here made the stay even better.

The hotel staff made sure we had everything we needed and even helped us set up the hotel wifi on our computer. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The room may not have been the largest but who stays in your room in Avalon?

Hotel Villa Portofino's location is another one of its many attributes. Easy access to/from the ferry and to just about anything else on the island. The on site restaurant also is among the best in town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raykit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flroida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Our visit at Hotel Villa Portofino was wonderful from start to finish.
The staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to help us plan our outings in and around town. Though our room (not one of the suites) was smaller than some, it was very clean and comfortable and had the island ambiance we love. The upper deck is beautiful any time of day but gorgeous at night-overlooking both the beach and the town of Avalon. Hotel Villa Portofino is a very special place and we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Our room was a little small-next visit we'll choose one of their larger rooms!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tripjunkieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We Love the Villa Portofino Hotel. My husband and I stayed there last Fall and had such a nice experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our trip to Catalina was a great experience. Thank you VP! We will be back.
Sincerely, Toby and Brendon Burch

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — I wasn't there long enough.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TobyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing