We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and great location”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location. Great views from Portofino Suite. Only drawback is that some of the rooms are dated and original setup appears to be Motor Hotel from the 50's but this isn't Kapalua either. For Avalon, it's the best in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmjr2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We appreciate your visit & stay at our property on your last visit to Catalina--- I will forward the positive comments to our Staff. The Hotel Villa Portofino was first constructed in the mid 60's.
The ownership of our hotel have greatly improved the level of our accommodations, and AAA continues to rate us a 3-Diamond property on their rating scale. Looking forward to your return.
John La Fleur, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

my husband and I really enjoyed our stay this was our first time coming to Catalina Island cant wait till next year room was clean everyone was very friendly we slept really good we will be staying at this hotel again Thank You

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your first visit to Catalina and your stay at The Hotel Villa Portofino. I will pass your comments along to our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
John La Fleur, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Catalina hotels itself are VERY expensive. Villa P isnt the exception. The rooms are small and outdated. The tv was the size of a microwave. Pillows were old and uncomfortable. Showers are too small for an average size person. Best things about hotel; the view, sun deck, and proximity to main attractions.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Denisse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

So let's start with the pros - good location, on the ocean front, yet in a quiet spot at the end of the main drag, convenient for Descanso Beach. Complimentary towels and beach chairs.

Apart from that, quite frankly, I found no other redeeming features at Porto not so Fino. I am a European:I failed to find the European elegance the brochure boasts about. The "tastefully decorated rooms" reminded me of my Grandmother's last apartment - rather dark, slightly grotty carpet, mustard coloured walls, slightly chipped paint, plastic potted plants full of dust and a musty smell that lingers. The "personalised service" was totally absent. Staff were not particularly friendly and certainly not helpful. The only smiles came from the maid and garden staff. The "deluxe" continental breakfast is a stand up affair in the hotel lobby with your typical, gas station pastries - reheated Costco type croissant and the usual translucent American joe, certainly nothing European about the coffee and only the cheapest Lipton tea on offer. Very disappointing.

Internet, which these days is a necessity, can only be accessed by a cumbersome code on paper system which expires and constantly has to be re-set. Signals are often weak. Frustrating for looking up tour options or accessing your daily news.

Hotel toiletries - again, disappointing and not what you would except for 250 dollars a night, more in line with Motel 6.

Rooms - apart from the out dated and dusty decor, were tired and sound proofing poor - maybe we were unlucky with room 117. My feeling is the Porto Not so Fino is in need of a renovation. You are paying for the location, nothing else is worth the price. We shan't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VagabondGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Your comments regarding your stay was concerning to me, as we pride ourselves in trying to provide the best possible guest experience, as demonstrated by the majority of our guests.
Our pastries are baked fresh daily, here on the island. Our Housekeeping Staff works diligently to ensure cleanliness and comfort. I so wish that you would have had a more enjoyable trip to Catalina. John La Fleur, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'll preface this by writing I haven't actually stayed at this hotel yet. However, I booked a package deal for a weekend in June, including accommodations, taxi to the hotel, and ferry from Dana Point. The person I booked with was extremely helpful, polite, and arranged everything quickly and efficiently. Unfortunately we had a last minute family emergency that prevented us going, and the management staff was nice enough to give us a gift certificate for the total amount, to put towards a future stay. They did this even though I cancelled well after the free cancellation period ended. I truly appreciated this consideration and look forward to staying at the Hotel Villa Portofino when I visit Catalina.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank krs10a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you your comments. We do understand that there are times when emergencies happen, and we do look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel Villa Portofino when your schedule allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned from stay late June. Property is a 10+ min walk from Ferry landing (not too bad even with luggage), and on the far end of the main street. The advantage here is less traffic noise! Want to share that this hotel has VERY friendly staff and great amenities- we arrived before check-in time, and they have a complimentary luggage storage facility, ice water with lemon and cucumber, fresh fruit, and great recommendations for meals (see reviews for Cafe Metropole, Maggies Blue Rose Mexican food)! The BEST part was grabbing a cup of water and going up to the sun deck (see photos) and hanging out for a while before our casino tour (a 5 min walk from hotel). They also made dinner reservations for us at their restaurant (See more reviews for that). NOTE: we did the same thing on our check-out day- luggage storage and sun deck rest.

Excellent shady outdoor seating areas on the mid-levels (see photos) for breakfast (sun deck is closed until 10am), but you also sit at the Restaurant seating out front (too sunny for us that day). Breakfast was croissants, scones, muffins with fruit and OJ. Mid-level also has ice machine and vending for drinks.

We had an inside courtyard room (a less expensive one), Room is nice, flat screen TV, tiny fridge in closet, King bed was firm, extra pillows. Bath is nice size with step-in shower, hairdryer. A/C wall unit kept air moving and cool. The room is not reason for the excellent rating - it is the property, location and people. Overall, a great value and stay- I am recommending this place to a LOT of people who want to go and I will return as well!

Room Tip: Did not have any room noise. we were in room 203 on the mid level in the middle of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Our goal is to make sure that every guest, has the experience you had. Looking forward to your next return . John La Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

this is the second time we have stayed here. i just love this place! the sun-deck is perfect for just about anything. dont make my mistake and fall asleep out there. there is too much other stuff to do in Avalon.

the internet is horrible, but why come here for good internet anyways?? and they seemed to be working on it to try and improve it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Catalina, along with your comments regarding your stay.
Yes, the patio is the perfect place to overlook Avalon bay. In regards to the internet problem that you experienced, that problem has been fixed by our internet provider (something to do with their router ). Again..we look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina !!!!
John LaFleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $140 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing