We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sundeck IS the destination...”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2008

The rooms are small and basic but, the staff is friendly and accomodating. The sundeck is a place to waste the days away. A great little find.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank vizmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

The bf and I just returned from a fun one night gettaway to Catalina Island. Though the hotel was a bit outdated and our Courtyard King room was small, it was an overall good experience. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. They allowed us to check in early and check out late at no extra charge, provided recommendations of restaurants and things to do around the island, were glad to answer any questions we had and treated us as guests even after we had checked out. SCUBA diving was the main reason for this trip, we had a rolling cart with tanks and gear in it that we were able to leave outside our room's glass sliding door.
The location was great, just a short walk to everything, including the Avalon Underwater Park right by the Casino. Not once did were we in need of a cab or golf cart.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suite_escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I spent three great days in Avalon and the Hotel Villa Portofino. This was our first vacation without kids in five years and it was fantastic. Catalina itself is great but our stay here made the stay even better.

The hotel staff made sure we had everything we needed and even helped us set up the hotel wifi on our computer. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The room may not have been the largest but who stays in your room in Avalon?

Hotel Villa Portofino's location is another one of its many attributes. Easy access to/from the ferry and to just about anything else on the island. The on site restaurant also is among the best in town.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank raykit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Our visit at Hotel Villa Portofino was wonderful from start to finish.
The staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to help us plan our outings in and around town. Though our room (not one of the suites) was smaller than some, it was very clean and comfortable and had the island ambiance we love. The upper deck is beautiful any time of day but gorgeous at night-overlooking both the beach and the town of Avalon. Hotel Villa Portofino is a very special place and we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripjunkieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We Love the Villa Portofino Hotel. My husband and I stayed there last Fall and had such a nice experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure our trip to Catalina was a great experience. Thank you VP! We will be back.
Sincerely, Toby and Brendon Burch

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TobyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Overall, this was a very nice place to stay. The desk staff was extremely courteous and pleasant, even letting us use their beach chairs and towels after we had checked out but before we were scheduled to leave the island. The room was clean, there was a wide range of television stations offered, and the exterior of the hotel was charming. Also, it's located right by the water, making for a beautiful view.

We reserved a single room with a queen bed, and yes, it was REALLY small. That's understandable, as there's not a lot of real estate space in Avalon, but it was difficult to move without knocking into things, and there wasn't enough surface area to put our things on without stuff falling. The shower stall was super-small, too- difficult to maneuver in. But since we weren't spending too much time in the hotel, we could live with the small size of the room, although it might bother others.

It would have been nice if the hotel offered better amenities in terms of the brands of shampoo, soap, and lotion - and if they offered conditioner (necessary after spending a few hours in the ocean!). For what we paid, this would have been appropriate.

Still, I recommend the hotel and I understand that the suites and larger rooms are quite lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Grapecrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Stayed first night in Portofino Suite. It was incredible! Overlooked the beach at Avalon and boardwalk below. Restaurant located downstairs gave it a real European feel. Beautiful sundeck upstairs with a lot of available deck chairs for relaxing and table with umbrellas for appropriate shade. Great for relaxing and looking out at the harbor.

Hotel is steps away from the beach and is the perfect location for shopping and dining. The staff at the hotel was extremely accomodating and always very friendly.

Second night, we were not able to get the Suite again. We stayed in a queen room which was very small but was a lot less expensive so it was appropriately priced. Door opened to quaint courtyard with a lot of beautiful flowering plans and lush trees in planters.

My husband and I stayed there with our two little boys. We all had a WONDERFUL time there and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $118 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing