We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wanted a quick overnight getaway and couldn't find any hotel rooms! Called Hotel Villa Portofino and got "their last room:- they told me it was in a corner and was slightly "dark" so I was hesitant but it turned out fine. The room was small but very nice and clean. Large bed, comfy with nice soft sheets and good pillows. Small bathroom but the room was fine all in all. Really nice balcony/sundeck with nice "beds" and lounges. Good continental breakfast in the morning. It wasn't luxury with a capital "L" but very nice and a good experience. We spent almost all day shopping, on the beach and exploring the island so we weren't in the room a great deal. But a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: interior and not "on the street" would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildjflippin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 500 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Villa Portafino, although we have eaten at the restaurant several times in the past. Our suite was perfect, spotlessly clean with an updated bathroom and with a small private balcony with ocean view. The 3rd floor sun deck is a special and unusual treat! It's close to the center of town, but far enough away to be more private and quiet than some of the other ocean front hotels. The front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly...unusual and very much appreciated. The only thing I would change is a firmer bed as both my husband and I have 'back issues' and the bed was softer than we like.....We'll be back!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in one of the suites. They have a private balcony and no noisy air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansemery1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

It is our goal to ensure that every guest has the best experience at our property! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay & will be looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Villa Portofino/ Catalina Island for more fun adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay. It is such a unique little boutique hotel. As you head to your room its like a hidden little villa. The views from the sun deck was awesome. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The staff just had a way of making you feel like family. They helped us with reservations and tour suggestions. They helped us to just relax.

Room Tip: We were on a upper floor near the sun deck which made it nice to be able to go to your room for snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrshb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are glad you've enjoyed your relaxing break & took time to slow down & switch from a busy work schedule to "island time". Our hotel aims to make your vacation as pleasant as possible. We do hope to see you back soon- enjoying a glass of wine on our sundeck. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Today I booked a trip to Catalina as a surprise for a family member. I had the pleasure of working with Wendy today and her "can do" attitude was so greatly appreciated. If the customer service at the hotel is anywhere similar to the customer service I experienced today on the phone while booking the trip, this is going to be an awesome trip! Only wish I could go too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank CaChris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing us as a vacation spot for your family. We certainly hope you will get to enjoy our property & sunny Catalina with them on the next trip over. Our excellent staff will take as good care of you guys in person as over the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was nice and a good value, but it was small. If I had it to do all over again, I would pay extra and get a bigger room. If you want to save money, you won't be disappointed with the smaller room.

The muffins at breakfast were delicious. My husband doesn't eat carbs, so he didn't eat breakfast at the hotel.

You will be happy with this
hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently spent a couple of days on California's Catalina Island. What a delightful destination. Our hotel, the Villa Portofino, was a sweet boutique hotel located on Crescent Avenue toward the Casino end of the street. The view was spectacular from the hotel's sundeck. We spent lots of time there watching people and boats coming and going in the harbor. Our room was a queen - small but very cozy, which we like. The décor was tasteful and the amenities of good quality. The hotel staff members were all friendly and helpful. They were very good about answering our tourist questions. They even directed us to where we could get questions answered that they didn't have the information for. For example, my husband was particularly interested in the Cubs baseball history on the island. They suggested we see Lolo at the barbershop on Sumner St., on the plaza. What a treasure trove of information we gleaned from our visit with him. Lolo's barbershop walls are filled with historical baseball items. We felt we had walked into a shrine! If you are a baseball fan, be sure to stop in and see Lolo if you want to know all about the Cubs and other island history while visiting Santa Catalina. And be sure to consider staying at Villa Portofino. We found it to be a quality hotel property at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a return trip to the Villa Portofino for us. The location is great. It is easy to get around Avalon. Our package included round trip on the Catalina Express and taxi services to and from the hotel. The folks working there are very accomodating. Our room was small, but met our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank You for your positive comments regarding your recent return visit to The Hotel Villa Portofino. We appreciate your praises of our staff, and I will forward your comments on.
We look forward to your next visit to Catalina.
John LaFleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $118 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing