We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Portofino”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Coto De
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Villa Portofino”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great time in Avalon and enjoyed our first stay at Hotel Villa Portofino while celebrating a birthday in October. The hotel was quaint and quite and an easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The courtyard was very charming and the hotel has a rooftop deck with a beautiful view of the harbor. We received a bottle of champagne with a card in our room that evening and a continental breakfast the next morning. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating and we have already booked the hotel again to return in November to celebrate another birthday.

Room Tip: Our first stay was in a room with a queen size bed witch was too small for us. We have booked a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    146
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
95
267
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. To our surprise they upgraded our room with a great view and even had champagne on ice with a nice card! The rooms were small but was roomy enough for us two. Our room was very clean and had all the necessities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back to stay at hotel villa portofino !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chav0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Villa Portofino is the perfect place to stay on Catalina. Close to everything but situated in a quiet area of Avalon. Beautiful, well-kept property with a variety of great rooms from cozy rooms to large suites. The entire staff is friendly and helpful and always "welcomes you back". The courtyard patios and large rooftop deck are great places to relax. The rooftop patio is furnished with several chaise lounges and tables and is a terrific place to watch the boats in the harbor while sharing a bottle of wine. Have stayed there many times over the years and it has always been a wonderful experience - never a single problem or concern.

Room Tip: Restaurant next door by the same name (not sure if it is affiliated) is a nice place for a quiet Ita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Cute little place! Staff very friendly, close to everything but what isn't in Catalina? just a hop, skip and jump from the ocean, just a relaxing time. Rooftop deck was nice just to sit up there and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleygirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

From beginning to end, everyone at this hotel made our anniversary trip fantastic. The hotel is right in the heart of everything, walking distance to restaurants, shops, attractions, and the beach. The rooftop deck is a great place to watch the boats, talk, or just relax. The view is phenomenal. Our room was beautiful with a balcony that gave us a view of the sunrise each morning. The restaurant was also very nice -- service and food were great. We will definitely stay at Villa Portofino next time we can return to Avalon!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are a bit quieter and the views are worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel was a great place to stay. Rooms were like new. Staff was great before and during our stay. The hotel was located in a great spot. Just about center of the beach and town. I will stay at the Villa Portofino on my next trip to Catalina Island

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonR8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Conveniently located to everything. The reception staff were very professional, personable and helpful. We enjoyed the rooftop patio very much. This is a perfect spot for a group or a romantic getaway. My only disappointment is that I thought it was right on the beach. There are no places to stay on the beach. It is just across the street from the beach with easy access to the ocean. We walked all over town, took the hummer tour of the East end, thank you Charles for sharing your knowledge and love of the island. The second day we rented glass-bottom kayaks. That's a gas, though you can only see in the direction going away from the sun. It would be better on a slightly overcast day, I think.
The Portofino isn't a fancy place, just clean and convenient with some charm thrown in. We all wished that we could have had our breakfast on the rooftop. Unfortunately, that seemed to be when it was cleaned.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms on ground level, so if that's an issue for you, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing