We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casino Dock Cafe - CLOSED

Casino Dock Cafe
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located between the beautiful casino & avalon bay. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or lunch outdoors or just come out for a refreshing cocktail & delicious snacks. Catering available for all occasions.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Casino Dock Cafe and Pedro's Bar are a must do on Catalina Island. Our family recently spent 10 days on the Island and we were at the Casino Dock every day for breakfast or lunch or an afternoon cocktail. The food is very good and the service is outstanding. Pedro is the mixologist and one of the best on the Island. Whether its a cold Pacifico or something more elaborate like an Island favorite Buffalo Milk or a Pedro's Special, you will always be treated right at Pedro's Bar. The restaurant and bar have outside seating and the view of the harbor and Avalon are outstanding. They also have entertainment on the weekends. On your next visit to Catalina, make sure you enjoy the Casino Dock Cafe and Pedro's Bar, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar and drinks....but what's better is....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This place is by far the best place on Catalina Island to have breakfast. The Casino scramble is one of the breakfast plates I've ever had. Every place was packed on Saturday morning and we hit up a local and he told us to go Casino Dock Cafe and Pedro will take care of us. So to go along with our amazing breakfast, we had bloody mary's overlooking the harbor. All in all it was a great experience and we didn't have to share it with a zillion people nor wait in line.
Looking forward to eating here again we we come back for Steve and Erin's wedding

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay353535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“If you didn't have a good time here there is something wrong with you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have been coming here for four years. I have always had the best time and the best service. For those of you who ordered the burger, good call on ordering a burger at pedro's bar. Its a mexican style bar/restaurant, obviously order the mexican. Amazing mexican food! Fish tacos! And pedro has always been the most respectful and friendly bar tender so whoever "assumed" pedro was the drunken bar tender perhaps you shouldn't assume.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank INCUBUS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Come here for the location and live music not the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Food was average, I had a burger that was a cheap frozen patty, girlfriend had the fish tacos which were average. Cool place right on the water with live music. Get drunk before you eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dock-Cafe-Pedros-Bar, Manager at Casino Dock Cafe, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Steve3178, We thank you for completing a review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our food was only average. Our customer's honest and constructive comments will only help us to improve our service and product. I can ensure you that I've discussed your comments with our waiter and cooking staff. We appreciate your nice comments on our live music as well. We are constantly striving to make our customers experience a memorable and enjoyable one. Should you decide to come back in the future please give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Sincerely, Casino Dock Cafe & Pedro's Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Pedro's was recommended by our hotel for having great fish tacos and drinks. The food was average. The bartender (assuming Pedro) was extremely intoxicated while working the bar, but he was generous when pouring the alcohol. Overall the experience was OK.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dock-Cafe-Pedros-Bar, Manager at Casino Dock Cafe, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear VacationFamily Guy, We thank you for completing a review on Trip Advisor, I'm sorry to hear that you're experience was only average. I'm also extremely concern that you're perception of our bartenders was less than professional. I can ensure you that none of our employee's work intoxicated or consume alcohol beverages while working. Also we have never heard nor seen any such conduct by our staff members in the past. We are constantly striving to make our customers experience a memorable and enjoyable one. Our customers feedback is important to us and this is the only way we improve our service & product. Again thank you and should you decide to come back in the future please give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Sincerely, Casino Dock Cafe & Pedro's Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino Dock Cafe also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing