We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, great bartender, chef and staff”
Review of Avalon Grille

Avalon Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Avalon Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Catalina Avenue
Description: Avalon's waterfront dining, located at the foot of the Green Pleasure Pier, is open seven days a week for lunch (Fri-Sun) and dinner with a lively, central bar and open air dining. The Avalon Grille features American regional dishes with a seasonal approach, paired with a world class selection of wines, micro-brew beers and cocktails in a casual and fun "al fresco" atmosphere overlooking Avalon Bay. The Avalon Grille boasts a fabulous menu including Miso Cured Bass, Lavender Roast Chicken and our famous Roasted Brussels Sprouts.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food, great bartender, chef and staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very classy yet fun bar/restaurant. Had sooo much fun sitting at the bar being served by the wonderful Stacy. Even though we arrived from the Catalina Express late, they still served us dinner. Make sure you try the brussel sprout appetiser, it is mouth watering, trust Stacy, everything she suggested we liked. On the 2nd night, it was so good, we ate there again and Chef John created a wonderful vegetarian pasta dish for me, it was delicious! In all the places I've visited throughout the States, this has definitely been the best atmosphere and service I've ever received. Thanks everyone at Avalon Grille, made our stay on Catalina extra special!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank magster0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us at the Avalon Grille. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I am delighted to share your rave review to my entire team. I am proud of Stacey and John who went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and showed genuine care to ensure your dining experience was memorable. They will be very happy that you remembered their names.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avalon Grille on your next visit to Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Cubias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    232
    93
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice yet pricey”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a fun meal there on a recent Monday night. Everything was quite enjoyable, apart from the salmon entree which ended up being over $30 while really small. Would definitely recommend keeping an eye on menu items that are listed as MP.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your dining experience at the Avalon Grille. We appreciate your constructive comments which will enable us to continually improve our service and food quality for our guests.

I am delighted to read your assessment of your overall experience but would like to extend my apologies for the experience you encountered regarding the quality of food. I can assure you that I will address it immediately with my team.

We look forward to the opportunity to restore your confidence and welcome you back to the Avalon Grille in the near future.


Sincerely,

Ricardo Cubias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent a beautiful California afternoon on Catalina Island, and stopped for lunch at Avalon Grille. We were seated in a great location, right in front of an open window. The restaurant itself is lovely, low key, in very good taste. We started with the grilled Brussels sprouts with hazelnuts. They were delicious. The serving was very generous. I ordered the Bibb lettuce salad with pecans and apples. The pecans were dusted with cinnamon, which was a surprise. Not bad, but unexpected. My husband had a Caesar salad with chicken. All in all it was a nice meal, but ended up being 55.00 with tip, no drinks. A lot for salad and an appetizer, but hey, it's an island.

Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Raphael truly is an angel.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wonderful meal, cheerful service by Raphael and a warm, starry night. What more could the island offer?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TucsonSiobbhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate with seven people with seven different entrees and all were equally delicious. Our server was fantastic and the ambience was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon Grille also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Avalon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing