We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Olaf's

Big Olaf's
Ranked #4 of 6 Dessert in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy treat!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had Big Olaf's as an after dinner dessert, and it was so good! The staff was very friendly and funny. Enjoyed the waffle cone and will go get another one when I go back to visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    62
    34
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always love the ice cream, but this year the staff was rude”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We always love Big Olaf's ice cream and we're there at least once a day but this year we were really disappointed in the counter staff. I get it that serving ice cream all day isn't glamorous, but they had no customer service skills at all. We also get it that an ice cream shop is going to have high school kids working the counter and this is good and fun, but for pete's sake give them a quick lesson on customer service. Not all of them were unfriendly, but the ones we saw most often were not as dynamic as some of the other young people we encountered working on the island. The ice cream is good though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ice cream dream”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Long lines, but decent prices. the people working behind the counter were nice, even though we recognized the young man from the fish & chips shack on the pier, you'd never guess he works two jobs from the sunny smile he had!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“everyone else is doing it”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

the big waffle cone is $0.50 more expensive than Lloyd's but they add whip cream, nuts and a cherry. The regular cones are $0.30 more expensive than Lloyd's, but I don't see anything different.

This price difference is for single scoop ice cream.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The frozen bananas and the ice cream were awesome! Be prepared for a line due to how good this place is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Olaf's also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Big Olaf's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing