We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Leave the Island without a Visit to Big Olaf"s”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Olaf's

Big Olaf's
Ranked #5 of 6 Dessert in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Leave the Island without a Visit to Big Olaf"s”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Best ice cream. The Spumoni is my favorite flavor. However, every flavor is good not matter the side you purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    62
    34
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Go for the ice cream but not for the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Both the ice cream and the waffle cones are excellent. However, the service is not great, and my wife had to ask servers to provide the toppings that were listed on the menu. The elder server seemed tired and upset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth a visit......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The cones are amazing as is the ice cream. The lines can be long but the wait staff is excellent and they move fast. Great spot for a treat!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's ice cream and waffle cones”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The good thing is you get a fair amount of ice cream (Dreyer's) for the money. Nothing spectacular, homemade waffle cones and good ice cream.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LostInSpace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Oh my Goodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted their ice cream the evening before but got there too late. It was funny...they had just closed up and there was a line of about 10 people (including us) that wanted them to reopen just for us...of course they couldn't. So, we decided the next night we wouldn't miss them again...we came close...but got there in time. We had the newest flavor...a hot fudge brownie with whatever two ice creams you wanted. We got ours in a plastic cup with a spoon instead of on a cone. Oh MY Goodness! Words can't describe the decadence of this off-my-diet cheating experience! It was worth every calorie! Definitely try this place out if you're on Catalina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Olaf's also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Big Olaf's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing