We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamilton Cove Villas
Nearby Hotels
Pavilion Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$268
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$178
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$269
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
74
47
17
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
47
17
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanagement companygolf cartbath condowell stocked kitchendetailed informationpicnic areavacation rentalcatalina islandslept comfortablya million dollar viewocean viewbeach towelsevery amenitywrap around balconyfamily vacationevery morningbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 158 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a one bedroom condo with a dirty kitchenette. The outdoor deck was covered in bird droppings, and the floor was crusty with dirt. The bed had hair in it and the bathrooms were gross. The condo came with a golf cart for our stay, which was fun. But the rest of the condo was awful, the worst hotel/condo experience I've ever had

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John Paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to submitt a review for your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of you Villa. This certainly is not the standard for our properties. Please come back and see is and if at any point you have an issues with your Villa please call asap and we will respond quickly to ensure your stay with us is enjoyable.

Thanks Again,

Catalina Island Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the outside, the Hamilton Cove Villas are stunning and really beautiful. You can't get a better ocean view. Our family of 3 rented room 2-33, not sure what the previous "reviewer" was looking at, but it was awful, awful, awful! We walked in to a room with trash on the coffee table, the couch was disgusting and dirty, the carpet under the dining room table and bedroom where very stained and dirty. (I did not want to eat looking at that carpet through that glass dining table.) There was no way I would cook or even heat up food in the kitchen or use any of the mismatched kitchenware. For glassware, we could choose from the plastic, in-town, "free cup with drink" cups or the 1 plastic margarita cup. Did i mention the hairs in the bed? I was almost in tears, especially with what we had paid for the room, 60 days in advance. CIVR manager quickly moved us to 1-56 which was only slightly better. 1-56 has no where to set anything down in the bathroom, the TV in the bedroom made a very loud humming when turned on, and my socks were black when I walked around the place(I sure wasn't going barefoot). There was also so much dust under the valances in the bedroom and on the bathroom sliding door(in the molding).Luckily my parents were in room 2-31 which was better and we spent most of our time over there. These owners really need to "gut" these circa 1985 condos and do some updating. Also, the $110 "cleaning" fee is a joke because these places sure aren't being cleaned. I want so bad to like these places because of the gorgeous balconies and views, but they are making it very difficult. The golf cart was a highlight and we really enjoyed going into town. If the owners of these units would update furniture and carpets and management would enforce the cleaning, this would be a perfect getaway! Beware of 2-33 and 1-56!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donna015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your response. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your villa. This is not to the level of cleaniness that we strive to provide. If for any reason you have a issue with the cleaniness of you Villa call us asap and we will do our best to quickly address. I have discussed these issues with our housekeeping staff. And also with the owners of the villa for the need to do some updating.

Regards,

CIVR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I can't wait to come back and stay at Hamilton Cove again. Our villa 2-33 was absolutely fantastic. My experience with CIVR (rental agency) from beginning to end was very pleasant and easy. We found and booked the place online, Chay emailed us the documents that needed to be signed and sent back, and when we showed up, we picked up the keys and that was that! Rental includes a golf cart which is an absolute must to wander and explore the island Do not limit yourself to town! There is so much to experience and see on the island and in all the accessible nooks and crannies. At $30 - $40 an hour to rent a cart in town, make sure you factor this in to your budget. We rolled around all over the place.

A (1980's but clean and functional) washer and dryer are available. Ours was shared and located just across the corridor. Views from this room were unobstructed and just beautiful during the day, and at night. Huge balcony and a shared charcoal grill.

Room Tip: Villa 2-33 rocks! Just a note - there are about 70 steps to go up and down to get to this villa from the parking lot. If you have small children, are elderly, or have lots of luggage, this might be a challenge.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Checked in to our room and found it filthy. Yellow stains on the couch ETC. Luckily a friendly man Denny upgraded us (free of charge) to the finest suite. FANTASTIC place! Individual rooms, free wifi, TV's, movie collection, free golf cart.

We will def be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyTartol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Yes it's expensive. Yes you have to start the laundry, throw out the trash yourself and clean up a bit on check out day. Yes you have to climb numerous stairs to get anywhere.

But you are on a cliff, with a private beach, pool, fitness center and clubhouse. You go to sleep at night with the door open to the gentle breeze and lapping waves and no other sounds.

You have your cocktail on your deck or rock in the glider reading your novel, looking up occasionally to gaze at the azure water.

You hop in the golf cart to go into town for supplies and then hurry back to paradise.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews