We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Avalon so chose Hotel Catalina strictly on availability and Tripadvisor. What a nice surprise. The property is actually two separate sections, each with it's own front desk although both accommodate the entire property. We asked about an upgrade with an ocean view. The front desk clerk was happy to take us up to show us an optional suite before we committed to anything. We ended up with room 506 in what I think was the garden wing. The suite included a full kitchen, separate living room and bedroom with a large widescreen TV in both rooms. We had our own private entrance from the street with our own deck and amazing view of the harbor and the Casino. The front desk was always helpful and accomodating. Everything was clean and neat that the location was perfect. There are lots of choices of hotels in Avalon and we considered ourselves very lucky!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Decided last minute to take advantage of the freebies on Catalina Island Labor Day Weekend 2013. Found Hotel Catalina through the Birthday Promotions listing. Due to last minute reservations (6 weeks out), we weren't sure what we'd find. We were thrilled with the room. It was a pleasant stay. The hotel staff was very accommodating. The hotel looks older, but the room was recently updated. We stayed in the Courtyard Garden Wing, Room 510. The bathroom has a beautiful tiled floor from the jacuzzi tub to sink to closet. A very large bathroom for two people. We especially enjoyed this room because of the quaint patio area next to the kitchen right outside our room. Unlimited coffee, guava juice, cold & hot water and fresh baked donuts available all day. We had all day to explore the island when we checked out of the hotel. We left our bags in the office with no problems. We were thrilled to find out we could come back to the hotel to use their clean public restroom & still had access to the kitchen until our boat left.
The walk to the beach is about a 1/2 block. Very convenient. I found a gem in Catalina this weekend. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 510; the walk to the beach/boardwalk is 1/2 block. Simplifies the idea to go back &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krise66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We decided, pretty much at the last minute, in August, to pack up with son, daughter-in-law, a 3 year old and a brand new baby for a few days escape. This was pretty much the only hotel available on such short notice, so our expectations were low. To our surprise, our rooms (3rd floor) were lovely. The beds very comfortable. No A/C, but ceiling fan above the bed worked well. We made excellent use of the balcony with its pretty wicker furnishings and cooling breeze. Bathrooms are teeny-tiny with the sink located in the bedroom, but the place is very very old so you have to make some allowances. Open windows at night allowed some street noise, but overall it was a quiet area, so we weren't much bothered. It was a short easy walk to the beach, and not too far uphill on the return trip from the beach. Would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice place, clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, and centrally located. Price $$$ for second level, first level opens up to courtyard. 2 rooms for $220. Good coffee but horrible donuts. Has a courtyard for comfortable reading (cool and quiet). Good place to relax. I would absolutely stay there again. Large sign visible from the docks (we took the Catalina Express $73 roundtrip).

Room Tip: Expensive penthouse room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to take our children with us on his birthday trip to Catalina. After we got to the island we walked to the hotel and left our luggage with the office. We returned later and checked in. The room was nice, it was spacious. The carpet was dingy though. Our room was near the street and stairs which was not a problem most of the stay. A little loud at night with people coming and going. Our room had an additional door that led to the hallway. The hallway door had a deadbolt and on the second day of our stay the staff forgot to engage the deadbolt leaving our room unlocked and accessible by all. When I called the office to have it locked they said the office staff was gone for the day and it would be taken care of in the morning. Only upon my insistence did they send someone to lock it. There hotel has donuts, coffee and juice in the mornings. It was a nice tough but you have to get there early if you don't want to miss out. the bathroom was clean and spacious. Upon checkout we left our luggage in the hotel office. When we went to pick it up our son's wetsuit was missing. The staff was very casual about it and said they would ship it to us when it turned up. It's been two days and they can't find it and no other guest have contacted them about having it. A disappointing way to end our family getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinfam_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We got the birthday two-night deal from this hotel. It was our first time in Catalina and read reviews about this hotel. This is a good value hotel from this expensive touristy place. Our room is clean and enough for sleeping and taking showers. We spent all three days enjoying the island so we did not even have a chance to hang out at the swimming pool. They have hot coffee, tea and donuts at the lobby, seems like all day. The hotel is far enough from the main street that you will not get disturbed from people on the street, but we were woken up both mornings from noise outside our room. One day from someone hosing and cleaning and the other day from somone dragging the trash. I like the location of our room since we can go directly to it from the street and its facing the swimming pool, but it can be noisy in the morning and at night when people hang out outside and use the ice maker and vending machine. Overall, not sure If I will stay at this place again, if I do I will request a quieter room location. Room has a refrigerator and ceiling fan, no AC. Island weather is enough fo a summer good night sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room that you can directly access from the street, but will not be disturbed by early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloeyLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff was excellent. When the ferry arrived at the dock I called for the van to come and pick us up, by the time we were at the parking lot he was waiting for us. When we checked in I asked if there was any way I could upgrade to a King bed or two doubles, no problem a King at no extra since it was available. The rooms were very clean and updated. The only thing that I could even say any slightly negative was that the shower was only about a 3 X 2 1/2 (very small so if you are a larger person it might be uncomfortable). There was fresh coffee and doughnuts every morning. Just a very nice stay. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $122 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing