We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff / Worn out hotel”
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great staff / Worn out hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2008

The staff was very nice and the room was clean. However, this hotel is a faded beauty. Improvements are cosmetic: once you scratch the surface, things are lacking. Room 313 was small - hardly any room around the bed to walk, nowhere to put luggage or clothes... but there's a huge flat screen TV (priorities?!). Bathroom was clean, but shower curtain clings to you. Pillows on bed were flat. We paid for a view room, and looked out onto ugly walls & fire escape. While the exterior paint was new, the decorations and fake flowers on balconies were faded (weird fake deer in the gardens). The soda machine was too expensive at $2 per can, and it ate our money anyway (we got refunded). Breakfast room was adorable... the food was only donuts & small styrofoam cups of coffee. Location was good enough - Avalon is small so everything is close. Problems with internet access (signal hardly reaches 3rd floor rooms). In short: stay here, but only at a good price and don't have high expectations.

  • Liked — Cute exterior, nice staff
  • Disliked — Worn-out faded beauty
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    64
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
40
88
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2008

The customer service is the worst I've ever had in my experience. Debbie Kennedy which was the person who helped is one of the rudest people I've ever encountered. I tried addressing a credit issue and they were not helpful at all. I would be very careful when making business with this establishment.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — The customer service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claudbelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
jmom407
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2007

i booked my reservation before reading the reviews. i read a negative one and was a little scared. since i was past the cancellation policy i could not change hotels. we decided to just go ahead and stay there. my husband and i were celebrating our 22nd anniversary. we got the honeymoon cottage . its not very fancy but really relaxing. the staff is very friendly. we used the jacuzzi . in the mornig they had coffee and donuts. altogether we enjoyed our stay. its a wonderful place for quiet , romantic getaway

  • Liked — nice size room
  • Disliked — no ocean view
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jmom407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

At $250/night we expected a little more from this hotel than we got. The rooms are small and musty smelling. The bathrooms are ridiculously small—we had to leave the shower curtain pulled back to have enough room to bathe. And if you’re tall, your knees will be in the shower when you sit on the toilet. The staff was not very cordial and quite on the unprofessional side. This was exacerbated by having to walk past the housekeeping staff meeting being held in the hotel lobby each morning. While the hotel is in a good location, it doesn’t lend itself to the comfort that I would expect for this price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom/cleanlessness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Do NOT stay here. We prepaid for a "premier ocean view room" and the view out our window was of the side of a building. If you walked all the way up to the window, you could see a small slice of water to the far side of the building. The room was dirty, beyond run down, small and cramped, no closet. The toilet seat was old, cracked and peeling and crammed up next to the ancient shower. The girl at the front desk seemed nice, but made us prepay for the other 2 nights before we could even check in or see our room. And then "no refunds after check-in". We had to beg the maids to clean our room twice before they did, and then they just made the bed, at 4:30 PM! There were piles of dirty linens (not ours!) piled outside our door and other cleaning stuff all over the hallways the entire time. If you like loud parties til 2 AM on a weekday, with no staff on duty, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — our room!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank boaterArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I booked the Hotel Catalina In early March for one night in April, (13th).. after reading these reviews about some hidden charges and other things, I called to cancel.. I now find out that the very
day I called for the reservation for a month later, they billed my Citicard for $140.00.. then never credited my account after I cancelled... I didn't even catch on for two months (my fault for not being careful)... I have contacted them three times and each time they apologize and ask for my card info, etc. to credit.. As of three days ago, still no credit.. This is petty theft and my next call will be to the Catalina Police Department.. They seem nice on the phone but are ruthless business people to deal with.. How many people don't catch their shady credit card billing and they reap the rewards.. I may have to go over there with my dog!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — didn't stay there
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank ojailala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

HOTEL CATALINA, The nicest hotel in Avalon. The staff is very friendly and also very helpul. The rooms are super nice especially room 301. I recomend this hotel to everyone. It's very close to everything. They are also one of the few hotels that have jacuzzi and they also have a BBQ. They said that their rooms were going to get upgraded. I can't wait to go back and see how they look. If you want to see the hotel you can go on hotelcatalina.com

  • Tips/Secrets — ASK FOR IVAN
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank frownny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Property: Hotel Catalina
Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing