We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crazy fun”
Review of Luau Larry's

Luau Larry's
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“crazy fun”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Check out the 5$ Tuesday and Wednesday specials! You cant miss this place. Usually filled with crazy loud people and music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dougrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    143
    50
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Close to the Ferry and the food is good”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Looks like a dive bar, tourist trap, but the food and drinks are very good. Noisy and party central, but that is what "Larry" probably wanted. Better food than the average tourist trap down the road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stopped for lunch at Larry's Luau. I had the Buffalo Burger and my wife had the fish and chips. The food and service were both good. Our waitress was pleasant and prompt. We enjoyed our food and will be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little bit of the Island”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Luau Larry's is a small place but also cute. We went for my eldest daughters birthday and was able to get the little "volcano room" in the back of the place. We only got an appetizer platter and she wanted a "wiki wack" which comes with a straw island hat. Cute little place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp and Chips”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good food, great atmosphere, good prices. Portions were good. My husband got the fish and chips and wished he would've gotten the shrimp and chips...I got more shrimp than he got fish.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luau Larry's also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Luau Larry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing