We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time in Catalina”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Old Turner Inn. We had a great time in Catalina and were very pleased with the service, location and hospitality of this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2010

A beautiful and well maintained bed and breakfast. The rooms are the quality of an upscale hotel, which I find unusual for a B & B. The price is a little steep, but in line with the rest of Catalina Island, and includes a fabulous breakfast and evening wine & appetizers. The hostess appears to rotate between Christa and Kathleen. We had Christa and she was exceptional. Her breakfasts were to die for and very friendly and helpful. The owners stopped in on our first night, and it was a gas talking to them, such history and knowledge of the island! We will definitely be back. Thanks so much for a great 4 days! Terry & Lee

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BongoColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife and I took a much needed vacation in September and decided to visit Catalina Island. We found the Old Turner Inn on the internet and thought it would be a great place to stay. We were not disappointed! We stayed in the King Suite. It was a well kept room that had a romantic vibe to it. We felt welcome the moment we arrived. Krista-Dora was the Innkeeper on our first night. She was so nice. We were the only guests that night so we were able to have wine with her and talk about the history of the island. She also had great suggestions on some of the island activities (Bike Catalina was awesome!). She made us a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Kathleen was our innkeeper for the remainder of our stay. She was also really nice and accomodating. She also made a delicious breakfast for us. We were fortunate enough to meet Kathleen's parents who are the owners of the Inn. They also talked about the history of the Inn and the island itself. Overall, this was a great vacation. Catalina Island is a beautiful place with friendly people everywhere. If we ever vacation in California again, especially Southern California, a visit to the Old Turner Inn is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan_amie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The Old Turner Inn was the perfect place to stay for our Catalina trip. It was right up the street from the Green Pier which is where all the fun begins. It was also central to all of the great dining places and Christa, the Inn Keeper, had the best recommendations for eating and site seeing. She also was prepared with beach towels, wet shoes, peas for the fish and any other thing we needed. The meals offered were great as well as the cozy set up for meeting and eating with the other guests. Our room had all private accommodations and was very quiet. It was also great reminiscing with Bill and Jeannie about all the history of the island. My teenage daughter and I had a great time. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scuba-Steve-LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Old Turner Inn, and we simply cannot say enough pleasant things about both our accomodations and the hospitality Christa Foster (the innkeeper) showed us! We enjoyed 3 nights and 4 days during the month of August at this perfectly kept home away from home. The couple that own the inn came to visit every night during "cocktail hour", and their sincere efforts to engage with every guest were apparent. Pictures from a bygone era were everywhere, including gorgeous artwork relating to Catalina's history. We stayed in the Garden Room and found all the charm of a vintage home matched with exemplary cleanliness. My husband and I were treated like family by the innkeeper and the owners, and we sincerely hated to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttercup322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed there a week ago for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday). It was a nice stay and the location is fantastic. We plan to go back and would stay at Old Turner again.

There was some noise at night as the cottages are close by so as the drinking increases, so does the noise. But it wasn't too bad, even though I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delaney2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Lovely room (King Suite) with private sun porch and street views. Excellent breakfasts, friendly staff, great location. Owned by long time Islander

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pjdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing