We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Plentiful”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at the Old Turner Inn for my wife's BD and had a great time. We had cool weather, but our upstairs window seats let the sunshine in for added warmth (although our room had a fireplace, but it's more for night use).
Avalon is very relaxing and plenty of restaurants were open. In that regard, the OTI has a great breakfast, starting with homemade granola and plenty of hot dishes. We had so muchfood that we didn't need to eat lunch the first day.
We would highly recommend it and we can't wait to go back and try other rooms (we were in the King room).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2009

We loved staying at the Old Turner Inn. We stayed in the Kings Room, it was wonderful, great king bed, bathroom with plenty of hot water, and wonderfully clean. It also had a little guest space joined with a day bed and trundle. The Inn Keeper, Krista, was fabulous, and an excellent cook. We were there three days, she made Eggs Benedict, a wonderful Bread Pudding, and a fabulous quiche! All with the trimming. She saw us one day at the store, and stopped to give us a ride home. She was as warm and wonderful as the Inn!!!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kaseymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Excellent choice just far enough away from the crowds, The Old Turner Inn is filed with charm, hospitality, excellent breakfast and perfect afternoon wine and appetizers. Our room, the Queen Suite was clean and comfortable. My wife and I were also provided the good fortune by our attentive host Christa, to visit with Catalina's foremost historian and author, Bill White. A wonderful experience! Highly recommended, The Old Turner in is our favorite home away from home on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SettersandHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband & I chose the Old Turner Inn for our honeymoon. Neither of us had been to Catalina before so we were very glad to have such a good experience during our stay. Kathleen was a fantastic hostess! She was even so good to share some of her excellent recipes with us and in general was very gracious, welcoming and helpful. We felt right at home staying at the inn. We enjoyed the proximity to the shops and the beach. We took advantage of "Island Time" and took some great naps during our stay. It was fun reading the journals that were kept in the room to read about other guests' stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blndinka226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Although my husband typically doesn't like B&B's, we won a weekend at The Old Turner Inn on a charity auction. Everything was great--rooms were nice size (we had the Seashell Room), and everything was clean and well prepared for us. Location just up from the beach/shops. We were very impressed with the breakfast that Krista prepared for us, and we also enjoyed the other people who were staying there as we found that we had much in common. She also made some great recommendations on what to do and where to eat. We definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixfoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I were very pleased with our choice of the Old Turner Inn. We found the reviews of previous guests to be right on. The moment we stepped in the front door we were in our home away from home. Christa is the perfect hostess, always ready to put in the extra effort to make each guest feel welcome. She provides a wonderful breakfast and evening snack and is happy to share her recipe secrets.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Reserved09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

On Catalina Ave., the Old Turner Inn is straight up from the Green/Pleasure Pier, about 2 short blocks on the left hand side, almost opposite the miniature golf course. It's very conveniently located while being just far enough away from the main strip to be much more quiet, peaceful, & serene, just like it should be!

The hospitality was DELIGHTFUL, the full breakfasts were EXCELLENT, & the room was very clean & promptly made up in the mornings.
We didn't use the fireplace since we didn't need it, but it would be nice in cool weather.
We didn't take full advantage of the afternoon wine & nuts set out, but they were nice to have. The availability of beach towels was very convenient since those take up a lot of packing space. We did take some advantage of the TV, but (thankfully) not too much.
The Queen Suite was perfect for the 4 us. Even though I'd originally tried for the King Suite, which was booked, this worked out much better because it has the sink outside of the bathroom so 2 people can be accommodated instead of just 1, whereas in all the other rooms, (there are just 5 altogether), the sink is inside the bathroom along with the toilet & either a shower or bath. The King has a tub/shower, whereas the Queen just has a large shower, (big enough for 2 if there were another faucet, but alas, there isn't), & no bath, but we're shower people anyway so a bathtub is sort of "wasted" on us. The King has a King bed, but the Queen bed in the Queen room was fine for us since that's what we have at home anyway. All of the beds in our room were very comfortable.
All of the rooms have a ceiling fan, but these are the only 2 rooms with AC, & the AC was nice to have at times.
Finding a hotel with a single room to accommodate a family of 4, including a boy & a girl, is exceedingly difficult.The King & Queen suites with their enclosed porch areas. each containing a day bed with a pull out trundle bed underneath are perfect for a family with 1 or 2 kids.
We will definitely return to the Old Turner Inn if we revisit Catalina.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trystgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing