We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Arnold says...."I'll be back"!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like Arnold says...."I'll be back"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

First of all we ran into Christa (our Inn Keeper) in Long Beach at the Catalina Express terminal! ...she had picked up some fresh flowers for the B&B and as we began to chat we'd figured it out that we were all go to the same B&B! (Small world, right?)

We got to the Inn and by then it was nearly Wine & Cheese time so we got to chat some more with Christa and another couple staying there while enjoying wine and some appetizers; we learned soooo much about Catalina from Christa so we were well prepared for our adventures for the next couple of days!

The first morning Christa cooked Eggs Benedict and this morning she made a quiche; both mornings there was yogurt/granola, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, coffee and tea along with a selection of breads!

Bottom line...we had a blast and look forward to the next trip!!

Thanks Christa!! :)

Room Tip: Our room (called the Queen) was on the 2nd floor, very nice, had a little sitting area overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffreyGinsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Turner Inn. The rooms were very clean & quiet. Proximity to town is great, close but not too close. Christa the Innkeeper was very nice & she even raced items we'd left behind (rental car keys!) down to the helicopter to get then to us quickly! If not for her we'd have had to pay for new keys & it would have been a big hassle. The owners are a lovely couple with interesting & fun stories to share. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had all the rooms except the King Suite. Everyone was perfect. The beds are soooo comfortable. Full scrumpous breakfast and evening wine and lite snacks. All the folks were helpful and friendly. Although we walked a lot and parasailed and rode rental carts and did the beach, we enjoyed hanging out there too. So much historical stuff. It was so convenient to the main part of town but not right in the middle of traffic, etc. We could walk back and forth, comfortably. Convenient to Vons Express for last minute items. Great location. It was fun just to visit and do the trivia games and we wish someone could have played the piano. We started to feel like part of the family. We will go again and recomment.

Room Tip: Go for it, Old Turner Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammy70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

A little over a year ago we made our first trip to Catalina where we stayed at the Zane Grey - a rustic & small room, but with a great view of the harbor. It was there that I proposed to my then fiance (she said "yes"). We returned to Catalina for our honeymoon, and narrowed our choices down to five places to stay. The reviews here help make up our minds, and we chose to stay here at the Old Turner Inn for four days/3 nights (June 9-12).

The place is wonderful, charming, quaint, cozy... pick the metaphor. A couple blocks from the front street busy-ness, yet not too isolated. A great room with a fireplace, and an enclosed sitting room (with rocking chairs and a day-bed) accessible thru french doors.

The innkeeper (Crista) was gracious, and cooked us amazing breakfasts (eggs florentine, homemade bread pudding, artichoke & tomato quiche, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, juice, coffee, croissants) and evening hors d'ouevres (wine, cheese, crackers, pot stickers, chips). Free sherry in the room, too. Met the owners, and enjoyed great stories about themselves and the island.

Her suggestions for best places to eat for lunch and dinner were spot-on. Great food with reasonable prices and good service (we knew about Armstrong's for great seafood, plus The Lobster Trap, CC Gallaghers, and The Sand Trap - for $1 tacos and $2 beers during a daily generous "happy hour" time 2-7pm, plus great margaritas). Can't forget Lloyd's of Avalon for great chocolates, too! We'll have to save Steve's Steakhouse for our next trip back.

We also enjoyed the Under The Sea, Flying Fish and Skyline Drive tours (already booked in advance). The June Gloom weather hung around for most of our stay, but that didn't damper our lovely time together at this nice little B&B.

We would definitely come back here again!

Thank you so much, Crista, for making our stay so wonderful!

All the best!!!

Mike & Cindy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trubador33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Rooms are wonderful. Make sure you stay in one of the rooms in the back. The noise from the street can be heard from the front rooms. Other wise, the Inn and the management are the best. Management offers excellent concierge service. Great location to Avalon. Everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank California62011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

The innkeeper is so kind and helpful! And the inn is really cute and nicely kept up. It's also in a nice location, very close to town but not right in the middle of the craziness. Very relaxing, we had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissahurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

I can't say enough positive things about the overall experience of staying at "The Old Turner Inn. Kathleen made us feel most welcome while attending to our every need. The effort she makes to accomodate you is special. Her breakfasts are like nothing we have experienced.

It was an treat meeting Kathleens father Bill. He is an excyclopedia of the islands history and is a treasure to speak with, He will gladly share a glass or two of wine with you while making you feel most welcome. Old Turner Inn is a great alternative to a conventional hotel. One of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimC35778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Property: The Old Turner Inn
Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing