We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Turner Inn. The rooms were very clean & quiet. Proximity to town is great, close but not too close. Christa the Innkeeper was very nice & she even raced items we'd left behind (rental car keys!) down to the helicopter to get then to us quickly! If not for her we'd have had to pay for new keys & it would have been a big hassle. The owners are a lovely couple with interesting & fun stories to share. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
139
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had all the rooms except the King Suite. Everyone was perfect. The beds are soooo comfortable. Full scrumpous breakfast and evening wine and lite snacks. All the folks were helpful and friendly. Although we walked a lot and parasailed and rode rental carts and did the beach, we enjoyed hanging out there too. So much historical stuff. It was so convenient to the main part of town but not right in the middle of traffic, etc. We could walk back and forth, comfortably. Convenient to Vons Express for last minute items. Great location. It was fun just to visit and do the trivia games and we wish someone could have played the piano. We started to feel like part of the family. We will go again and recomment.

Room Tip: Go for it, Old Turner Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammy70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

A little over a year ago we made our first trip to Catalina where we stayed at the Zane Grey - a rustic & small room, but with a great view of the harbor. It was there that I proposed to my then fiance (she said "yes"). We returned to Catalina for our honeymoon, and narrowed our choices down to five places to stay. The reviews here help make up our minds, and we chose to stay here at the Old Turner Inn for four days/3 nights (June 9-12).

The place is wonderful, charming, quaint, cozy... pick the metaphor. A couple blocks from the front street busy-ness, yet not too isolated. A great room with a fireplace, and an enclosed sitting room (with rocking chairs and a day-bed) accessible thru french doors.

The innkeeper (Crista) was gracious, and cooked us amazing breakfasts (eggs florentine, homemade bread pudding, artichoke & tomato quiche, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, juice, coffee, croissants) and evening hors d'ouevres (wine, cheese, crackers, pot stickers, chips). Free sherry in the room, too. Met the owners, and enjoyed great stories about themselves and the island.

Her suggestions for best places to eat for lunch and dinner were spot-on. Great food with reasonable prices and good service (we knew about Armstrong's for great seafood, plus The Lobster Trap, CC Gallaghers, and The Sand Trap - for $1 tacos and $2 beers during a daily generous "happy hour" time 2-7pm, plus great margaritas). Can't forget Lloyd's of Avalon for great chocolates, too! We'll have to save Steve's Steakhouse for our next trip back.

We also enjoyed the Under The Sea, Flying Fish and Skyline Drive tours (already booked in advance). The June Gloom weather hung around for most of our stay, but that didn't damper our lovely time together at this nice little B&B.

We would definitely come back here again!

Thank you so much, Crista, for making our stay so wonderful!

All the best!!!

Mike & Cindy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trubador33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Rooms are wonderful. Make sure you stay in one of the rooms in the back. The noise from the street can be heard from the front rooms. Other wise, the Inn and the management are the best. Management offers excellent concierge service. Great location to Avalon. Everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California62011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The innkeeper is so kind and helpful! And the inn is really cute and nicely kept up. It's also in a nice location, very close to town but not right in the middle of the craziness. Very relaxing, we had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissahurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I can't say enough positive things about the overall experience of staying at "The Old Turner Inn. Kathleen made us feel most welcome while attending to our every need. The effort she makes to accomodate you is special. Her breakfasts are like nothing we have experienced.

It was an treat meeting Kathleens father Bill. He is an excyclopedia of the islands history and is a treasure to speak with, He will gladly share a glass or two of wine with you while making you feel most welcome. Old Turner Inn is a great alternative to a conventional hotel. One of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimC35778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I travelled with another couple to Catalina at the beginning of the month. Since we only wanted to stay on the island for one night it was difficult to find a hotel that would have us....most of the hotels have a 2 night minimum. I am so glad that we found Old Turner Inn. It was such a quaint, little B & B and the rooms were so cozy. We stayed in the Wicker Room which had a queen bed with no fireplace but it did have a huge walk in closet. Our friends stayed in the Garden Room and they had a king bed and a fireplace but no tub...just a shower. I guess you pick and choose what is most important to you.
When we arrived (early) our room was already ready for us and there was a letter waiting for us to tell us what to expect from the hotel. It let us know about the wine and appetizers that were going to be prepared for that evening. When they say 'light' appetizers they really mean it, but they were yummy none the less. We arrived for the event late and didnt really chat with everyone very much but there were people around the fireplace talking and enjoying themselves. There were young adults and older couples and they seemed to be having a good time.
They do ask that you don't have any food and drink in the rooms but we did have a few drinks in the room. (Sorry) We were not aware of this until after we had a few but there was a little trinket of alcohol and 2 glasses set up in the rooms for you to enjoy.
We didnt stay out too late and arrived back to the hotel around 11pm. Everything was very quiet inside and I was afraid of waking others that were staying there. Since the hotel is close to the shops and bars, we did hear some outside noise from our room but not enough to keep us awake.
I had told the innkeeper prior to our arrival that my friend was lactose intolerant and asked if she could make her a separate breakfast. She did accomodate this for us and we so enjoyed the bread pudding that was prepared for everyone else. It was really a nice breakfast with fresh fruit, breakfast meat, the bread pudding, yogurt and granola. Orange juice, coffee and tea were also provided. It was nice not to have to leave the hotel in the morning to eat breakfast and it was, of course, included in the price.
Since we were not leaving the island until later in the afternoon, we were allowed to leave our luggage in the living room until we were ready to head to the boat. It was great to not have to carry it around with us, since we went parasailing that morning and did a little shopping. When we return to the island we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Property: The Old Turner Inn
Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing