We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$280
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$219
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seacrest Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
$219
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveler rating
520
80
11
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
520
80
11
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkcourtyard deluxe roomavalon suitecontinental breakfastwet barcatalina islandsteve's steakhousemini bartwo flights of stairsperfect locationoverlooking the beachthe open air lobbythird floorfabulous hotelrooms are beautifulno elevatorgreen pier
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 631 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything was great but it was pricey. We stayed in the Avalon courtyard suite in September. It was very lovely and clean. Fresh pastries in the morning. I just think the room was way over priced at 425 a night plus taxes and fees.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Recently a friend and I ventured to Catalina Island for our first visit and my Birthday treat. We stayed at the Vista Del Mar and were pleasantly rewarded with a spectacular view of the Casino Icon and the variety of floating vessels. The staff was exceptional with our check in, allowing us to store our luggage and call my cell when our room was ready. Our room was very appealing with a unique décor, spacious and the shower was perfect with a tiled bench to sit on and soak to your hearts content. All in all I would definitely stay here in our future visits.

Room Tip: You will have to climb stairs. No elevator available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First and foremost, the staff at Hotel Vista Del Mar are incredibly kind, polite and accommodating. Rooms are not guaranteed until 3pm but they have a free baggage check so you explore the island until your room is ready -- in our case, they called my cell and we were able to check in an hour and a half early.

We stayed in a Courtyard Deluxe room, which was spacious and clean. Our room (107) was next to a supply closet so there was the occasional bump or knock but nothing to complain about. If I have an issue it is the layout of the hotel is a bit strange. It's located on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. Keep that in mind if you have a lot of luggage (or in my case, a very pregnant wife). Also, the rooms don't open to the outdoors, instead they all face a single semi-open air "courtyard." The courtyard roof is a skylight so you get plenty of natural light in what would otherwise be a large hallway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1shinyobject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Avalon is a small place and unless you are on a mountain you really could stay anywhere and be close to the nightlife. HVDM has it all ... location, style, comfort, elegance, friendliness. If my wife and I were to return, we would without a doubt stay here again. We stayed in the Avalon Courtyard Suite and and liked everything about it, the fireplace, the Jacuzzi, and the comfortable bed. The hotel website photos of the suite are accurate. It;s that nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not all of the hotels in Avalon are family friendly. This one is the best family friendly hotesl on the island. The service is four seasons level (extraordinary). The staff is very friendly and personable. The accommodations are top notch.

The first room (104) can get a little bit of lobby noise early in the evening, but it was always quiet by a reasonable hour (9:30 or 10pm). Plus the AC fan (which is a little bit too noisy) masked any noise even at those early hours.

We loved the personal attention of the staff and the milk and cookies every evening!

Room Tip: Room 104 can experience a little lobby noise in the early evening, but quiets down by 9:30pm. But I would not hesitate to stay in that same room again. If the AC seems to make a little bit too much noise, try opening the shutters above it very slightly (the shutter is what is vibrating) and it quiets down nicely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhpolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews