We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not all of the hotels in Avalon are family friendly. This one is the best family friendly hotesl on the island. The service is four seasons level (extraordinary). The staff is very friendly and personable. The accommodations are top notch.

The first room (104) can get a little bit of lobby noise early in the evening, but it was always quiet by a reasonable hour (9:30 or 10pm). Plus the AC fan (which is a little bit too noisy) masked any noise even at those early hours.

We loved the personal attention of the staff and the milk and cookies every evening!

Room Tip: Room 104 can experience a little lobby noise in the early evening, but quiets down by 9:30pm. But I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhpolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    75
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
118
310
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for the first time with my boyfriend last week and couldn't have been more satisfied. It was so quaint and comforting and felt very private. I had no idea that it was right on the beach, we could basically hear the waves crashing all night long. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiece G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Even though the reviews raved about this hotel, I still had my doubts...a hotel located on the third floor above a steakhouse?! I was pleasantly surprised to be wrong. The location was perfect, right across from the cozy beach and just upstairs from restaurants, bars and shops. Even though our courtyard room had no outdoor view, the corridor was just as stunning.

Milk & cookie...what a cool touch. They usually serve them in the breakfast area right across from the reception. Because we were catching a movie at the historical Avalon Theatre and told the staff that we could not make it back on time, the staff went above and beyond to leave a plate of those freshly baked goodies plus refrigerated glasses of milk in our room. Talk about customer service!!!

On more thing that made me fall in love with this hotel...the mini-bar price! Most hotels would up-charge for the convenience of that mini-bar in your room, but not this hotel. A bottle of water only cost $1.50, and I didn't have to put my normal clothes on, go downstairs and walk to the store to buy it?! For those traveling with children, you don't have worry about breaking your bank if your kid pops open a can of soda every now and then! HEAVENLY, thank you, thank you!

One little thing that did drive me crazy. There was no door to the bathroom sink/changing area, and there was a skylight...J had trouble staying asleep when my room was so bright at 7AM...minor details.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

First time to Catalina Island. Stayed one night at this amazing hotel. Very,very nice. Clean, modern and close to everything. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and kind. Highly recommend! Would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavisCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Vista Del Mar is a winner!! I love how inviting the surroundings are. A beautiful ocean view from the lobby and great spot for people watching too. It is quaint and has really outstanding staff. Stayed in the Cortyard Room. The bed was very comfy and the shower was deluxe. Liked it very, very much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossombud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family just stayed at Vista Del Mar and loved it. It is well maintained and super clean. We stayed in a room with a pull out sofa as there were 4 of us. The sleeper was really comfortable. They has fresh linens on the sleeper ready for us. They called two days prior to our stay to get our arrival time to be sure the room was ready.

The hotel staff were very kind. We have a special needs son with a wheel chair. They helped us carry the wheel chair up and down the stairs. They stowed our luggage on the day of departure for free. Only complaint was the other guests were very rude but not the hotels fault for sure. My son can't stand very long and was about to sit when some mean lady ran in front of him to steal the seat.

The breakfast was great and you can't beat the milk and cookies.

I can't wait to stay at the resort again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinderylapitt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is conveniently located in the middle of town and near the pier. This is a small and yet lovely hotel with beautifully decorated rooms. The rooms look like they were just renovated with a fireplace at the foot of the bed, granite counters, and large walk in shower. The free DVDs, cookies and milk, and continental breakfast is a definite bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing