We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, GREAT location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, GREAT location”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been wanting to stay at the Vista Del Mar forever and it didn't disappoint. Our room was beautiful -- fireplace, huge tv, room to relax. The staff was professional and efficient. And how can you beat cookies and milk each night?

True, Avalon is small. Everything is close. But the Vista Del Mar is on Crescent Avenue right in the middle of everything. One of my new favorites. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    76
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
126
322
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Baldy, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I calibrated our joint birthdays this year on the island. While in the past we have enjoined the some of the older iconic hotels in Avalon, this trip I was looking a more intimate place with a fireplace and more amenities. The room was sparkling clean and the staff was sweet and helpful. The room was spacious enough to have four other family members stop by for cake. If you have stayed in Avalon before, you know that this is not so possible in many of the older rooms with out everyone sitting on your bead! The location is as good as it gets and the price is worth the splurge if you will be spending any time in the room. I highly recommend this hotel and we will be sure to return. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eqelectronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days , the Staff were very friendly and waived the $200 room deposit after a debacle with the Catalina Flyer not running and not getting a refund . Would have liked some cheese and ham with bagels at breakfast but this a wonderful hotel with great views location and extremely helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadlyraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I just had a lovely visit to Hotel Vista Del Mar. The hotel is conviently located on Crescent st, facing the ocean. It's located in the center of the Avalon beach front resturants, shopping, tours, pier, etc I don't think the location gets any better. The hotel does not have a elevator and shares a main staircase with a neighboring resturant (the only somewhat annoying thing.) Upon arrival the staff was very friendly, and worked quickly to check us in (mind you we where quite early, we arrived at 12:00pm and check in is 3:00) I thought that was a nice gesture. We got into our room and where very satisfied, it was a simply gorgeous, clean, and spacious. The gas fireplace, large flat screen and marble where lovely touches. The only negatives where: there is no microwave, or mini fridge, and the continental breakfast was very basic and most of the pastries where quite stale.) also, we chose the Romance package, and noticed our bottle of bubbly wasn't in our room as promised. We understood, because after all we did check in hours early and caught them off guard. It was not a problem. These are all little things. Our room was gorgeous, the location was perfect and it definitely made us feel like we where on a beautiful vacation. The staff where very friendly and offered to hold our bags even after check out. Overall our two-night stay was very enjoyable, we will definetly consider staying here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovechirashi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I checked in for a two night stay on 4/15/13. The hotel was a wonderful little place on the 3rd floor above Steve's Steakhouse. Perfect location and very nice upgraded rooms were only surpassed by a warm and genuine staff that could not have been nicer. Cookies and milk in the afternoon and solid recommendations from the staff helped make our brief visit a memorable one. My girlfriend especially enjoyed the well manicured flowers and plants along the hallway. We will return and we will be staying at the Hotel Vista Del Mar.
Sincerely,
Eric

Room Tip: There are 2 ocean view suites in the front but our room (8) was more than adequate with a king bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eobogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from Avalon. We stayed at the Hotel Vista Del Mar. The room and the staff were excellent. The location was great....right on the water in the center of all the attractions. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend it. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall our stay was fantastic. Our room was really nice and luxurious. On the terrace the view was great! We loved the warm baked cookies and milk at night and the breakfast was just perfect. The only bad thing I would say is that you could hear a little too well what was going on in the hallway and the room next to you if you listened closely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Green31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Property: Hotel Vista Del Mar
Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing