We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt stay anyplace else!”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

They had all my favorite things. Starbucks coffee, continental breakfast, favorite candy, a place to keep luggage when yr boat was leaving later. We did the unlimited package well worth it. Every one was very friendly and the lounge area was excellent looking out to the ocean. Cant say enough good things. Will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

Pros: Location, updated rooms and grounds, complimentary breakfast/nightly wine and cheese, friendly/helpful staff
Cons: None. Possibly price (depending on budget). Any small flaws were found only by knit picking (shower window was stuck closed, maid forgot to replace coffee one day, night staff told me I could use their desktop computer for checking email, etc/day staff said it was only available for the concierge.

Rooms: Updated, clean and white. Nice beds/comforters, wall mounted LC plasma TV with cable, small writing desk, clock radios with IPOD functionality, new wall sconces and floor lamp, small refrigerator that worked well (cold), small digital security safe, Starbucks coffee/coffee maker, DeservingThyme toiletries, Iron/Ironboard. (All appliances listed were brand new), simple updated bathroom.

Grounds: Open air entry (yet covered atop by sun screen panel) with plenty of comfy chairs, couches and tables. (Many people walking by looked at hotel and commented how nice it was/wished they were staying there/ asked for a tour of the hotel) large cozy fire pit, updated landscape plants and path lighting, courtyard surrounded by plenty of tables/umbrellas, and lounge chairs and umbrellas. Nice to sit in morning with coffee and watch the people pass by, ocean/beach goers. As well as in the late afternoon after a day of fun in town. Plenty of places to sit and relax and tables to eat/play games/ etc.

Location: Perfect location, STEPS from the beach, 40 feet from taxi drop off (to heliport), walking distance to shops/restaurants/ ferry landing, central location yet quiet. One of the first hotels as you enter town.

Atmosphere: Helpful attentive staff, upscale without pretension, hip LA couples and laid back OC beach families will both feel welcome. Kids are welcome. Cozy, yet clean and upscale without being overly trendy/snobby.

Food: GREAT daily breakfast spread 7-10 am, (Starbucks coffee, milk/juice (orange, apple, cranberry), fresh plain bagels/rye bread, small good quality muffins(blueberry, banana, etc), small cheese and apple strudels, croissants, Yoplait yogurts, cereal (corn flakes, canola, kids colorful cereal), fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple), cream cheese/butter, strawberry and apricot preserve. Silverware, nice plates and glassware, toasters.
Wine and Cheese at 5 pm. Nice Cabernet (Ravenswood) and a Riesling. Plates of 4-5 Cheeses (smoke gouda, gorgonzola, white cheddar, other cheese with some nice rye bread slices), lemonade.
Staff would walk around asking if you like more wine, pick up your empty plates/glasses.

Staff: Helpful and friendly. Manager was VERY attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAlexander2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returning from this hotel and we REALLY enjoyed it. It is in a terrific location --- about a block from the ferry/ship that brings you from the mainland, and in the middle of all the shops/restaurants/etc.
I have never been to Catalina before and this was just a great stay. There was a lot on the island that I wanted to see, and it was sometimes a struggle to leave the hotel because it was really relaxing and scenic in its own right. The grounds are beautiful, with so many lounge chairs and tables, whether you prefer to lay out in a grass and flowers garden area or up front with an ocean view. They have a nice complimentary continental breakfast, and a free wine and cheese half-hour in the evening.
Everyone who walked by the outdoor patio area was saying to their friend - "wow that looks nice, we should stay there next time!"
I thought the rooms were great. We had a 'deluxe king' which means it had a semi-private lanai and was on the 1st floor. The rooms are VERY new. The bed was super-comfy. The aesthetic is islandy and there were shutters and rattan-ish lamps to match. Basically the room looked really nice. There was definitely enough room for 2 people who didn't stay in the room watching tv the whole day. As for the 'semi-private lanai' as it was described on the website - I was confused as to what this meant and the concierge we spoke with a couple months ago didn't help too much - basically it is a large porch with 2-3 8-foot plants and 2-3 3-foot plants planted in front of 3/4 of the porch (with the walkway to your front door taking up the rest of the space). There is a table and two comfy chairs on the patio. My personal litmus test for privacy is, (sorry,) Can you sit out there nude? NO. People can definitely see you - it's not on the 'private' side of 'semi private', as people can clearly see you as the walk by along the path to their room. But it is definitely private enough to feel like you have your own patio set apart from the communal lawn-lounge area in the middle of the hotel.
Generally this was an awesome place to stay, and the only thing we were disappointed with was service, specifically from the cocktail waitress. She took about 20 minutes to bring one glass of wine, apparently because the bottle was chilling under 'heaps' of ice as she said. It wasn't remotely cold, and the manager rolled his eyes when we said we hadn't gotten our glass yet, so I assume she is still learning. But that was just a blip on the radar of a wonderful stay at the new Pavilion.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We booked a package including tours and had no problem getting the tours we wanted even though you could not get the tickets until the day of the tour. All staff members were very helpful and friendly. The cheese and wine tasting was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The hotel and grounds were beautiful, service was impeccable,people great, location was perfect. I loved this hotel and breakfast and cheese time were well worth it. My only negative statement is that they get you to do the ultimate tour package and the tours are all booked and you definately can not get on the zip line promotion during your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

If you are familiar with Catalina hotels, you will know that not too many of them have been updated & renovated. I have stayed at the Pavilion hotel in the past and it was satisfactory. This time however, I learned it was recently renovated and very contemporary. Upon my arrival, I hardly recognized it. A whole new fresh look. The patio was amazing and comfortable with a fire pit, comfy chairs, patio service for beverages and food and excellent attentive service from the staff. The rooms were completely redone. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on and I travel often. The location of the hotel, the service, the rooms & the beautiful grounds far exceeded my expectations. When I go back to Catalina I will definitely be staying at Pavilion Hotel. For a great meal, try the Avalon Grill a few doors down from the hotel. For beach relaxation, head down to descanso beach club. They serve you food and beverages while you lay out on the white sandy beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcd2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I thought this hotel was great. Granted, it's not a resort; the doors to each room are outside, facing the courtyard, kind of like a motel. However, if a clean, comfortable and pleasant stay is what you want, this is the place. My boyfriend and I decided on it because of its amazing location; the closest to the beach & boat drop-off, its modern decor, & great prices. The rooms are small, but it doesn't take away from the comfort it offers. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are cute and have HUGE counter space. And again the location can't be beat. I highly recommend kayaking; get a sandwich made at the local deli and enjoy it on a secluded mini-beach on the side of the island. I would not recommend the golf-cart rental; there is a lot of construction going on in the island, and there was nothing worth paying for the golf-cart to see.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $177 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing