We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of tranquility along busy Catalina promenade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility along busy Catalina promenade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at our room and was taken aback by it's aged decor and small size after reading all the great reviews.

With three days of bountiful breakfasts, wine and cheese happy hours and sitting by the cozy fire pit and lounge chairs, I really enjoyed my stay at the Pavilion Hotel. It was the first hotel on the strip as we walked from the ferry dock and was extremely convenient to all the shopping, bars and restaurants. And perhaps one of the few with such a nice garden to sunbathe, play in the grass and lounge about and chat with friends.

For those who like fresh buffet breakfasts and enjoying some afternoon wine, cheese and bread while socializing at fire pit, this is the place for you. They even provide free wifi, which was a plus for our electronic bound family!

The servers were extremely nice and friendly, and lady makes the be at cappucino in the mornings! It complimented the abundance of cupcakes, fresh fruit, papaya, cereals and even oatmeal.

Wine and cheeses in the afternoons were also quite flavorful. It was great to relax after running about the island all day in our golf carts or kayaking/boarding at the beach beyond the old Casino building. There is zip lining and golfing, two pretty popular sports on the island also.

Last tip is to book directly with the hotel, which may offer you a package that includes the expensive catalina ferry ride over from the mainland as well as your choice of excursions or golf cart rental, which is a must. You'll experience the breathtaking views of the gorgeous blue harbor from high on the mountain.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your experience at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and wine and cheese. Those are favorites of our guests. We hope to see you again soon on the island!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    234
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
274
469
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our stay at the Pavilion was wonderful. Each person on staff was friendly, courteous, and always willing to help with our needs. The continental breakfast offered much more than other hotels - it was very fresh offering bagels, rolls, fruits, meats, fruits and specialty coffees made to order. The wine and cheese hour in the evening was a nice added touch after a day of hiking and exploring. The room was clean and comfortable, grounds are beautiful with comfortable lounges and towels for relaxing. The hotel location is perfect - right in the center of town across from the beach. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again. Thanks for making our stay on Catalina so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. My team and I are happy to hear that you that you had a memorable stay at the Pavilion Hotel. We hope to see you again soon on the island!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved our stay at the Pavilion Hotel! We stayed in one of the back rooms up against the street and didn't hear any traffic or street noise. Most likely because golf carts dominate the island. I was impressed! This hotel was the only place that could accommodate 4 adults and 1 child in the same room. The complimentary breakfast was excellent along with the wine and cheese event. The staff were incredibly accommodating and offered the showers / changing room and luggage storage before and after check in! The outdoor seating and fire pit make it tough to leave the hotel. We can't wait to return to the Pavilion!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Pavilion Hotel! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese while you were with us. We hope that you come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We got a senior package special at this hotel, and I wasn't expecting much. I was VERY pleasantly surprised. Our room was beautiful and modern. The grounds are gorgeous, and the continental breakfast each morning was excellent. The personnel were all very friendly and helpful. The location is close to everything. We had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate the feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with some of the amenities at our hotel. We hope that next time you visit Catalina Island you will come and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gate, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Best time ever in Catalina, great hotel location,rooms were very clean never the less staff was excellent very nice and helpful we enjoyed the wine and cheese hour, great continental Bfast, i highly recommend hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandras001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

First the good news: This hotel is a 100% great choice for the location. There is awesome access to everything. The common areas and gardens of the property are beautiful and provide a nice sanctuary from the bustle of the busy walk street out front. The room rate includes a lovely continental breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening. There is a fire pit that is lit after dark to enjoy. The Pavilion cannot be beat for its location but it is not without a few glitches.

Rooms: Most the rooms are the same on 2 floors. They are well appointed with coffeemakers, in-room safes and hair dryers but no bathrobes. There is a mini fridge which comes in handy for bringing back your own snacks and drinks. The beds are good but the rooms are in serious need of upgrading. The carpets in our room were filthy and the drapes and walls were in need of updating or repair. Also the property has a strange sewer odor that was evident in our room (in the toilet area) as well as in other locations off and on. We had to keep the toilet/tub area closed to avoid the smell. Finally, the shower was not acceptable at all. Even after accounting for water saving on the island, our shower barely had enough of a trickle of to get wet or rinse off. The only option you have is to stand under it for twice as long to get "drip" rinsed. Probably not a water saving feature after all. Room advice: be careful which room you get. Some are very noisy. The very rear of the property is near a busy street and is very noisy. Also, rooms near the fire pit you might have to listen to people chatting around the fire every night.

Service and staff. Bell service and housekeeping did a good job. However, the reception area needs work. We clearly had a rough start to our stay on our arrival. After arriving on the 1st ferry around 10am, we were shocked that the front desk only had one person (Joy) available to check people in or out. In addition, this same person had to handle, in the same line, all the people trying to book excursions and tours. She struggled to keep up and seemed frustrated working alone with so many people waiting in line. We waited in line for 40 min to check in, even though all we wanted to do was check our bags till we could get into our room later in the day. Even then, it was a 20-30 min process. One group in front of us took over 20 min to book all their tours for several days while the cue trying to check in or out of the hotel got longer and longer. The lines in Las Vegas move faster than the front desk of this hotel. So beware if you stay at the Pavilion you might spend the entire morning waiting in line .....just to check in. Finally, even after I had booked my room months in advance, and specifically asked for a quiet location, Joy gave us the one of the noisiest rooms in the very back of the property close to a busy road with loud traffic buzzing by. Then, when we asked to be moved we waited another 30 min to get new keys and a room in a quieter location. Joy remained frustrated and again seemed overwhelmed trying to handle the people at the front desk along with our request to move rooms. Front desk volumes should be a relatively predictable for arrivals in Catalina, eg. check in or out during periods that coincide with ferry arrivals. One would assume this would be managed more effectively.

Finally, there is really no way to call this hotel directly without getting transferred to a call center. If you have questions about the rooms or the property itself, there is virtually no one you can call who knows anything detailed about the hotel or the amenities in the rooms. When I asked if the hotel provided bathrobes, I was transferred 3 times and the person at the call center had no idea.

Overall the Pavilion is an solid option if you need a comfortable convenient place to sleep near town as long as you are prepared to deal with a few glitches.

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rear or near the fire pit,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent experience at the Pavilion Hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we use this to improve upon the quality of your experience in the future. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambience at our hotel. Please email us at social@scico.com with further comments regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We booked the Pavilion Hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived after check-in in time we were told the room wasn't quite ready so they upgraded us to a suite! Our room was great!!. We had a large balcony , with a great view. The service is top notch with all the little extras like bottled water, turn down service and all the fancy soaps and accessories. There is a wine and cheese party every night a 4:30pm and breakfast 7am to 10am every morning. The staff are all pleasant and ready to help you. I even tried to tip person who brought up my bags and he wouldn't accept it!!. We were happy with the entire experience. They will even hold your bags after check out if you booked a later ferry.

Room Tip: the Moonstone suite is the best room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate your feedback. They will also be very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable.

Please come back and see us again soon over here on Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing