We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is very close to the boat gates. It is very clean with gorgeous grounds and private patio areas outside your room. Our room was not the best location because it's the very first room located right next to the maid storage area so they were various people walking past our room the entire time. We like to keep our window open so we can enjoy the view and every time someone would walk by they would look right at us. I finally just had to close the curtain. The wine tasting and cheese was very nice as is the breakfast. Would definitely stay again but avoid 101.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

As seniors, my wife and I were looking for a leisurely romantic getaway where we could relax and explore the island at our own pace. We chose the off season weekend just before Valentines day and we couldn't be more pleased with friendliness of the staff and beautiful garden grounds. The fire pit in the evening was perfect for meeting other hotel guests and just 'chilaxin' with an adult beverage. The hotel is perfectly located on embarcadero facing the Pier and beautiful Avalon harbor. I don't don't you'll find a better place to drink your morning coffee and eat breakfast than beneath the canvas sun covers facing the harbor.

The Pavillion Hotel is the perfect place to relax with a capital 'P'!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We also appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable.

Please come back soon to do some more relaxing around the fire ring!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt that we were in paradise. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The welcome from the staff made us feel at home. Our room was accented with a lot of warmth, so nice that we wanted to stay longer.
Wine & cheese in the afternoon the best by far we have enjoyed. Sitting around the fire pit with a glass of wine meeting travelers from around the country added to our great experience at the Pavilion.
Morning breakfast was excellent, we were lucky to have a view of the beach while enjoying the great selection of food items available, we left stuffed!
Once you have stayed at the Pavilion there is no need to look elsewhere for accommodations, the proximity to the pier, restaurants, shops and the beach were steps away. By the way the hotel even provided baggage service form the boat landing to the hotel, a nice touch!

Room Tip: 1st floor toward the rear of the garden.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gullliver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We walked into tranquility when we arrived at the Pavilion in Avalon. We pulled our luggage from the boat dock and arrived within 10 minutes. The grounds were magnificent with a wonderful mixture of plants and foliage in the inner gardens creating a very peaceful setting. The rooms were very inviting and accented by the French doors opening onto the gardens. Extremely clean and modernly updated rooms with very comfortable bed and bedding. The breakfast was extensive and the wine & cheese in the afternoon was plentiful (good poutings) with several choices. What a great touch! Great place for achieving peace and tranquility while facilitating mixing with the other guests around the fire pit for wine tasting. Wonderful location as we could walk to everywhere in the town center. This was a fabulous find of peace, tranquility, excellent service and great rooms. A definite keeper on the holiday list and well worth recommending.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom level all have French doors opening onto the inner gardens.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdncarol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Pavilion Hotel is the BEST on the Island! We refuse to stay at another hotel. Beach, Restaurants and Shopping are walking distance. We had an AWESOME weekend away! We traveled with friends and we are planning to return this summer. Wine and Cheese & Continental Breakfast offered great selection!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

There's lots of choices for accommodations on Catalina Island. When making our reservations, I picked the Pavilion based on the Trip Advisor ranking. I loved it! The gardens were fabulous, sitting area next to the room lovely, especially with the French doors opening into the room. Breakfast and wine in the evening put it over-the-top. We prefer smaller hotels like this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We were happy to help make your vacation memorable with our breakfast and wine and cheese hour. Next time you come to the island, we hope that you come stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Look no further. You don't very often find a hotel of this caliber that welcomes scuba divers and there extensive dive gear.
The continental breakfast is as good or better than some of the restaurants nearby. Don't miss the cheese and wine at 4:30 every night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmodys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. My team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Scuba trip. We hope that next time you come back to dive or visit that you come see us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $177 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing