We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little hotel - Catalina Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel - Catalina Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great location only steps from ferry docks. Loved fire pits in common area and wine & cheese happy hour. Friendly service, nicely updated rooms. A bit pricey but low inventory = higher prices on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We also appreciate your feedback that you posted on TripAdvisor. My team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our wine and cheese hour is a favorite, and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it.

Please come back and see us again on your next trip to Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    234
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
274
469
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed overnight at the Pavillion Hotel in Avalon in early January 2014. Wonderful hotel, excellent rooms and service. Can't see why anyone would be too selective about a particular location in the hotel. Enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese immensely. Beautiful landscaping. Yes, it is a little pricey I agree, but worth it for one night. They also let us check in early since the rooms were available. I thought that was unusually nice of them. Also the ferry ride over was just perfect, clean and efficient. Enjoyed several restaurants while there and both were very good. I agree this is not a location you would go back to repeatedly, but it is definitely worth a visit or two. We will go back again some day.

Room Tip: Can't see that any rooms are better than others. It is just a two story hotel...no elevators if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Catalina Island and we were not happy with the room. The price was way too much for what it offered. First day we were there and there was a mold order in the room we asked for something to be done and what we got was a scent candle, WOW!! Room service was nice but other than that we were not happy with the room. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great guest service, great room, great location. You can't go wrong with the Pavilion Hotel it's a must to stay at least once at this hotel very peaceful and relaxing environment walking distance to the promenade.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yessie u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Every detail of this hotel is excellent. The rooms, the fixtures, tv, blue ray, bedding, service is great. The continental breakfast is far more than that; they even make cappucinos and espressos for you. In the afternoon wine and cheese are served. The hotel is right on the promenade and right in the center of the waterfront. This hotel and much of Avalon have been significantly upgraded since we were there last. Well worth the money. Wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Premier King room we had was wonderful. Very quiet towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We very much appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience with us as well. My team and I were very happy to as our guests.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and everything else that the Pavilion has to offer. Next time you are on the island, please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were more than pleasantly surprised by the charm and quaintness of this hotel....Of all the hotels on the little boardwalk, this one gets the prize! perfectly positioned in front of the ocean front, perfect for sipping their excellent wine and buttery cheese selections! the room felt like we were staying in a bed and breakfast....romantic lighting, cushy-plush king size bed, bathroom layout highly functional with vanity sink in one compartment, bath/shower toilet combo in another compartment so 2 people could be getting ready for an evening out at the same time without the bothersome steam of the shower running or the commode in need of some popourri! :) Staff was more than accommodating! We were extended a late check out as needed. The european style breakfast was absolutely fabulous! nothing but good things to say about this lil' hotel! Definitely would love to return here again! check it out......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us, thank you! My team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on Catalina Island and with us. I am also glad that you were able to take advantage of all of the things that our hotel has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon at the Pavilion Hotel and on Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

When My Nephew and I got to The Pavilion, we were happy it was so close to the boardwalk and the beach. The check in went fast, and our room was modern, clean, and roomy, including the bathroom. I really like the openness of the whole hotel. ..from the garden area to the eating area outside. My nephew couldn't stop raving about the continental breakfast. It was the bomb! And I'm quite picky when it comes to food and cleanliness. The staff was also very friendly. Overall, the value was very good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeynsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. We were also very happy to have you as our guests.

I am glad to hear that you and your nephew enjoyed our continental breakfast and our hotel grounds. We hope that you come back soon to Catalina Island. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing